Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 11-21-2009, 12:37 PM   #1
Biggjb
Seasoned Camper

M.O.C. #9851
Repacking wheel bearings

I am new to MOC as I just purchased a 2009 2980RL. My wife and I just love it. As we do not expect to put too many miles on it and Keystone recommended repacking interval is 12 months or 12,000 miles. As I expect to put on way less than 12,000 miles a year is it advisable to perform the repacking job at the mileage interval rather than the yearly? Also, is this something I can do, as it does not seem to difficult?

Greg

Biggjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 02:00 PM   #2
ols1932
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1944
First, welcome to the MOC. You've come to the right place to have your questions answered. You may like the answers and you may not. One has to remember that everyone has an opinion and we all can only give our opinion. I like to work from my experiences rather than opinion. So I'll tell you what I do. I have my wheel bearings packed yearly because we travel full time. At that time I also have the brake linings checked and replaced if necessary. If not necessary to replace, the least I have3 done is to have the brakes adjusted after repacking the wheels is complete. It is something that anyone who is handy can do. I quit doing it because of physical limitations (and age). I think that you can get by maybe just inspecting your wheel bearings once a year like in the beginning of the travel season. But don't take that as gospel.

Orv
ols1932 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 03:20 PM   #3
noneck
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6263
Send a message via AIM to noneck