Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC on M.A.R.S. > Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2017, 05:55 AM   #21
kozzy
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Brewerton
Posts: 339
M.O.C. #18144
im still trying to figure mine out, I have another new Tstat installed, a new controller. Yesterday, I turned the from AC on, and let it run, it was 80 out. My camper is stored at my workshop, not at home, I stopped back there around 7 PM, and it was still running and cooling. I let it go. I stopped this morning, at 6 AM, it was off, the temp in the upstairs was cool. I had it set to 66 degrees. I turned the tstat down to 56 and it never kicked on. I put it back to 66 and left for work. I plan to stop on my way home and see if it is cool inside and was running. Its going to be 90 today, and humid. Could this all be from the unit freezing up or a bad or misplaced freeze sensor?
kozzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 11:32 PM   #22
2dandr2
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Mountain home
Posts: 3
M.O.C. #20056
Send a message via AIM to 2dandr2 Send a message via MSN to 2dandr2 Send a message via Yahoo to 2dandr2
Quote:
Originally Posted by usaf_retired View Post
We have a 2017 3791RD. Just started having a issue with one of the Dometic thermostats. When it's running, the A/C works fine. But when it reaches set temperature and stops. It will not start back up again, when temp rises. I have to shut it off for about 30 seconds, then turn it back to A/C auto is where I have been setting it on. Then works ok. Thinking it might be a bad thermostat. Any suggestions please. Also though about swapping it out with the one in the bedroom to see if trouble follows.
Ours is also doing the same thing and we are in a dry climate. We have the 2017, 3791RD also. We have to turn both of the thermostats back on if they shut down. We are full timers so it is hard to put it in a shop. We ordered a thermostat from CW, but has been on backorder for 3 weeks. We figured we would change one and see how it works. Also, our bedroom actually cools very well. But, the other ac doesn't work well and cool the kitchen living area. It seems as if it isn't pushing enough air. We did talk to CW but they didn't seem to have heard of any problems like this and suggested a new thermostat.
2dandr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 04:59 AM   #23
jameswbarton
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Frankenmuth
Posts: 416
M.O.C. #18658
Leaving the fan on high helps but also hides the main problem. Icing is caused by too low airflow especially in high humidity conditions. The fan helps melt ice or keeps it from forming especially during any time the compressor is not running. If you want a permanent fix you need to increase air flow through the coils. More ceiling registers, unclog ducts, clean coils.
jameswbarton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 06:34 AM   #24
phillyg
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: SWFL
Posts: 314
M.O.C. #17801
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2dandr2 View Post
Ours is also doing the same thing and we are in a dry climate......We figured we would change one and see how it works.......
Back in response 16 I explained we did the thermostat switchout with no joy. Dealer changed out the board but the problem still occurs occasionally. I'm beginning to think it's an inherent defect, although the rear AC has never failed. There's also a rainwater ingress problem we and some others are having that has to do with poor drainage under the AC shroud.

Unfortunately we're out of warranty now. Regardless, I'm going to do some further research on the specific model and try to push Dometic, perhaps with an internet blitz if enough of us get onboard. More to follow here and the other forums I inhabit.
__________________
2016 Montana 3711FL
2005 Ford F350, 6.0 diesel, short bed
Demco Hitchiker Auto Slide hitch
phillyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 06:50 AM   #25
Decook2010@hotmail.com
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Mayfield
Posts: 5
M.O.C. #20050
we found our unit was not pushing enough air and had it checked and found the unit on the roof was not lined up properly with the hole cut in the roof and the air was blowing back through return. they did move unit and fixed the problem but then you have new mounting holes in roof and the others have to be patched which i am not happy with and i am talking to keystone. both of our units was like this and now have 8 patched holes in roof and this unit is only 1 month old. it is a 3791rd.
Decook2010@hotmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 08:19 PM   #26
Decook2010@hotmail.com
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Mayfield
Posts: 5
M.O.C. #20050
our a/c units were not putting out air flow and they found the units were not installed properly on the roof the openning were not lined up they had to move units about 4 inches to line them up over opennings , the air flow problem is fixed but they had to patch 8 holes in the roof but we are still working with keystone about that.
Decook2010@hotmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 04:54 PM   #27
IBEW743TRAMP
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: San Jose
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #22000
Help. I have same exact problem. Brand new rig. Dealer canít fix it!!
IBEW743TRAMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 04:57 PM   #28
IBEW743TRAMP
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: San Jose
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #22000
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBEW743TRAMP View Post
Help. I have same exact problem. Brand new rig. Dealer canít fix it!!
AC runs to temp. Shuts off. Wonít restart without turning off and on again. I already swapped wall unit. No change.
Control board in unit was replaced. Also outside air temp sensor was replaced.
IBEW743TRAMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 07:07 PM   #29
IBEW743TRAMP
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: San Jose
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #22000
AC wonít restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by phillyg View Post
Had the same problem. I bought and replaced the inexpensive thermostat because we were travelling and couldn't get to the dealer. Didn't fix the problem. Finally got to the dealer and Keystone authorized replacement of the board in the a AC unit. Basically fixed the problem but it still occurs on occasion..
canít find an answer anywhere
IBEW743TRAMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 09:22 AM   #30
IBEW743TRAMP
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: San Jose
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #22000
Any fix for this?
IBEW743TRAMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 11:24 AM   #31
Kyle and Lisa
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: livingston,tx
Posts: 198
M.O.C. #21685
We have a 2018 3790RD and have experienced similar issues. The thermostats are about 5-6 degrees off and very sensitive. I removed the covers on both thermostats permanently, and press both up and down temp controls at the same time to reset the thermostat when it starts acting up or switches to Celsius. We have a lot less issues this way.
Kyle and Lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.