Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 12-22-2006, 12:43 PM   #1
jaybird
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #6300
Winterizing New 2955RL

I'm a rookie with my new 5er and I'm not winterizing cause I don't know how. My dealer is two hours away so I haven't traveled to see them. I use her monthly in the winter some I'm in my (confused) mind, I think I don't have to winterize. Mostly because I don't know how. In Seattle we don't have many freezing nights and I have kept the furnace on so I'm not completely stupid but I read in the brochure that my Fiver has the following.

No-fuss, ěFreezeguardî winterizing kit

I have no idea what this is or how to go about it.
Any advise!!!

jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 01:03 PM   #2
noneck
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6263
Send a message via AIM to noneck
Well, the short answer is depending on the year model of your unit there will be a valve and a short hose to insert into an antifreeze jug. Once the hose is in the jug, flip the valve to allow the water pump to draw from there, turn the valve at the hot water tank for bypass and turn on water pump and operate each faucet until the pink stuff comes out(both hot and cold). Keep checking the jug so you can change it out for a fresh one as it gets empty. Be aware if it pulls all fluid out the pump will dry run trying to reach upper pressure setpoint so you may have to turn off pump if it sucks air. Note; you should pull the anode rod from the hot water tank and drain it as well. I'm sure others will add where I missed any key points.

Chuck
noneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 01:40 PM   #3
jaybird
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #6300
Our 2955RL is a 2006
Old 12-22-2006, 01:43 PM   #4
jaybird
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #6300