Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC on M.A.R.S. > Repairs & Service
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-01-2019, 05:26 PM   #1
Goffergasser
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Elk
Posts: 7
M.O.C. #25032
Dometic Refridge Not Working

I have replaced control board in my Dometic refridge and it still doesn't function. I tested for AC voltage on the DC supply and got a wopping 26vac. I assume that is "ripple" voltage and comes from the converter. Is there a workaround in connecting the voltage from the converter to a different source on the converter or do I have to purchase another converter?
Goffergasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 05:53 PM   #2
Carl n Susan
Site Team
 
Carl n Susan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carmichael - CA
Posts: 4,037
M.O.C. #4831
I am not an expert on electricity, but 26V AC on a DC circuit doesn't sound right. Why measure the AC volts? What is the DC voltage and where are you measuring it? The output side of the converter or the batteries is my preference for measurement points.
__________________
Carl (n Susan) Youngren
There is more to life than fuel mileage.
2012 Montana 3700RL Big Sky Package towed by a 2015 Ford F350 6.7L PSD 4WD CC LWB

Carl n Susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2019, 09:47 PM   #3
Hblick48
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Folsom, California
Posts: 208
M.O.C. #21903
If you open the outside panel, you'll see a terminal block (usually on the bottom left). Check for 12 volts DC.

If you have 12 volts, check if you have heat on either ac (if you are plugged in), or propane. You can check by feeling sheet metal on the right, about a foot above the bottom...be careful, if it's been running awhile it could be very hot.

Post your results.
__________________
'05 F250 6.0 Bullet Proofed
'02 Montana 3280RL Upgraded a bunch.
Hblick48 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 08:14 AM   #4
ChuckS
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 223
M.O.C. #20949
Model # of your fridge would help ... a pic of where you measured 12vdc at would help...

If plugged into shore power unplug... make sure battery disconnect is not engaged...

Measure DC at control board module supply points... you need DC voltage regardless of shore power so that the eye brow control panel on fridge will function allowing it to control the module..

I’d DL the service manual ... if you haven’t already done so and use it as a step by step TS aid

Pic of Dometic control board wiring TS section... typical.. My Dometic RM1350
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 29449B37-FE66-4D35-B6E1-741F6990F8FC.jpg (296.9 KB, 9 views)
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 10:09 AM   #5
Goffergasser
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Elk
Posts: 7
M.O.C. #25032
I measured the ac voltage per a link that went through the test procedure for the board where it said to use a digital meter to do so. I did have 12.3vdc on the terminal you’re saying.
They said that the ac voltage shouldn’t exceed 2.5 volts or something like that.
Thanks for your information.
Goffergasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 10:42 AM   #6
ChuckS
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 223
M.O.C. #20949
You will have 120 volts AC on control board terminal and its sole purpose is to provide electricity to the flu heater element to allow fridge to work on 120 shore power.

All other DC readings will be 12 VDC ... I’d you aren’t reading voltages as above then either you have something wired wrong or have other issues.
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 10:44 AM   #7
ChuckS
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 223
M.O.C. #20949
Either an analog or DVM will do the job to
Measure both AC and DC provided the correct mode is selected on the meter. Some better DVMs are auto sensing
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 01:31 PM   #8
Goffergasser
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Elk
Posts: 7
M.O.C. #25032
Thanks ChuckS, I will recheck the voltages and go from there.
Goffergasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 01:39 PM   #9
mazboy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 1,530
M.O.C. #9561
call and talk to these guys.
https://www.rvcool.com/
mazboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 10:21 AM   #10
zwma6@aol.com
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: thonotosassa
Posts: 16
M.O.C. #23559
My camper brother...….my fridge was NO GOOD when I bought my 2008 MONTANA 38' .. I pulled it out and STRAIGHT to the metal DUMP ! (recycle place) MAGIC CHEF makes a BEAUTIFUL 10.1 CUBIC foot fridge that's HUGE inside. It fits PERFECT w tiny space on ALL sides .. HOME DEPOT wacked me 400 clam$ USA money. But it goes on sale for 365.
zwma6@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 07:55 PM   #11
Goffergasser
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Elk
Posts: 7
M.O.C. #25032
Thanks so much for your idea. My brother in law suggested the same thing to me last summer. Maybe it pays to listen to your in-laws! I think that I will go in that direction.
Goffergasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12v source voltage, converter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×