Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC on M.A.R.S. > Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2019, 08:48 PM   #1
mtlakejim
Montana Master
 
mtlakejim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bee Branch
Posts: 2,169
M.O.C. #20693
Atwood furnace

Had the old fan for 15 seconds but no light on Atwood Furnace. Cleaning the Sail Switch worked a couple times but it would quit working after a day or so. Got a new switch and now nothing?? The red LED on the board flashes slow (about once every 5 seconds or so). But absolutely nothing else. Any thoughts on what to try next? I am tempted to buy a new board just as a spare and to test with and I plan to make a jumper wire to test Sail Switches. We have about a hundred campers here so maybe with a little expertise I will be useful in emergencies.
__________________
James & Irene Wilson
Bee Branch, AR.
2017 Ram 1 ton diesel duallyCrew Cab/Long Bed
2018 Montana High Country 381TH Garage Full of Toys
mtlakejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 09:19 PM   #2
Daryles
Montana Fan
 
Daryles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Alton
Posts: 291
M.O.C. #24086
In the files section there is a furnace troubleshooting file.
http://www.montanaowners.com/forums/...?do=file&id=11
There is an error blink code in there somewhere.

Troubleshooting, good video

Also swap the black 15a self resetting fuse in the fuse panel. Sometimes they become intermittent.
__________________
Daryl
Daryles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 07:10 PM   #3
mtlakejim
Montana Master
 
mtlakejim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bee Branch
Posts: 2,169
M.O.C. #20693
Question:
Is the black 15 amp spade fuse for the Furnace a special type of fuse (IE: slow blow or something like that)?
__________________
James & Irene Wilson
Bee Branch, AR.
2017 Ram 1 ton diesel duallyCrew Cab/Long Bed
2018 Montana High Country 381TH Garage Full of Toys
mtlakejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 07:14 PM   #4
mtlakejim
Montana Master
 
mtlakejim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bee Branch
Posts: 2,169
M.O.C. #20693
Another question: Is the fan in the furnace 12 volt? I ask since that brings weak batteries into play. However I should say I am getting that red blinking light. What is the limit switches function?


Anyone happen to have a wiring diagram for an Atwood Furnace?
__________________
James & Irene Wilson
Bee Branch, AR.
2017 Ram 1 ton diesel duallyCrew Cab/Long Bed
2018 Montana High Country 381TH Garage Full of Toys
mtlakejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:12 PM   #5
DQDick
Montana Master
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 16,726
M.O.C. #11455
Can only help with the fan. Yes it's 12v so you can run the furnace when not plugged in.
__________________
Dick, Joyce, Diego, Picatso and Gustav
2017 3720 RL, MorRyde pin box
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi DRW 4X4, Pullrite Hitch, IS, Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Winegard Traveler, Bathroom door mod, Dometic 320, couch for desk swap, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:32 PM   #6
Daryles
Montana Fan
 
Daryles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Alton
Posts: 291
M.O.C. #24086
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtlakejim View Post
Another question: Is the fan in the furnace 12 volt? I ask since that brings weak batteries into play. However I should say I am getting that red blinking light. What is the limit switches function?


Anyone happen to have a wiring diagram for an Atwood Furnace?
There is one in the files tab of the Keystone montana rv Owners Group
https://www.facebook.com/groups/274058692984546/

Page 8 has blink codes.
__________________
Daryl
Daryles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:37 PM   #7
Daryles
Montana Fan
 
Daryles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Alton
Posts: 291
M.O.C. #24086
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtlakejim View Post
Question:
Is the black 15 amp spade fuse for the Furnace a special type of fuse (IE: slow blow or something like that)?
Yes it is special. It is a self resetting fuse like the 50a one that is used in the hydraulic system.
You can use a regular one JUST for troubleshooting. Or just get a new one.
__________________
Daryl
Daryles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:38 PM   #8
mtlakejim
Montana Master
 
mtlakejim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bee Branch
Posts: 2,169
M.O.C. #20693
Quote:
Originally Posted by DQDick View Post
Can only help with the fan. Yes it's 12v so you can run the furnace when not plugged in.
Thanks Dick.

I looked up the website and got the Owners manual (which didn't come with the camper). I worked in industrial electronics eons ago so once I get a schematic things make a lot more sense. I'll be getting the test gear and of course it will be available for anyone in the park.

One thing I did notice in the manual is Atwood makes a 110volt model! That sounds a lot better than putting strain on the batteries to me particularly since we will never boondock and I can't imagine that the batteries would last very long running the furnace fan anyway. So to me it doesn't make much sense for the unit to be 12volt to start with.....
__________________
James & Irene Wilson
Bee Branch, AR.
2017 Ram 1 ton diesel duallyCrew Cab/Long Bed
2018 Montana High Country 381TH Garage Full of Toys
mtlakejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:41 PM   #9
mtlakejim
Montana Master
 
mtlakejim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bee Branch
Posts: 2,169
M.O.C. #20693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryles View Post
Yes it is special. It is a self resetting fuse like the 50a one that is used in the hydraulic system.
You can use a regular one JUST for troubleshooting. Or just get a new one.
Do the auto parts stores carry those? You have to understand we are a LOOONNNGGGG way from a decent RV supply store. I know I know try the internet LOL......
__________________
James & Irene Wilson
Bee Branch, AR.
2017 Ram 1 ton diesel duallyCrew Cab/Long Bed
2018 Montana High Country 381TH Garage Full of Toys
mtlakejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 08:36 AM   #10
ChuckS
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 221
M.O.C. #20949
The single flash on the LED is telling you there is a “low air flow” condition.

If the fan doesn’t spin up the sail switch will not do anything. You need to read the service manual and test the fan blower motor first.. it has its own DC wire leads to it and when commanded ON via thermostat and air conditioner control module or gateway fan should spin up if 12 volts DC is present at leads to fan

Good,luck with your endeavors
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 06:17 PM   #11
mtlakejim
Montana Master
 
mtlakejim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bee Branch
Posts: 2,169
M.O.C. #20693
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
The single flash on the LED is telling you there is a “low air flow” condition.

If the fan doesn’t spin up the sail switch will not do anything. You need to read the service manual and test the fan blower motor first.. it has its own DC wire leads to it and when commanded ON via thermostat and air conditioner control module or gateway fan should spin up if 12 volts DC is present at leads to fan

Good,luck with your endeavors
Thanks for the suggestions.


I already replaced the sail switch. The fan motor does not start at all now so it's something else I suspect.

I'm going to make a jumper to test the components. I read the single flash could also be the high limit switch which is in series with the sail switch. Just waiting for some time this weekend (I hate daylight savings time grrrrr.....).
__________________
James & Irene Wilson
Bee Branch, AR.
2017 Ram 1 ton diesel duallyCrew Cab/Long Bed
2018 Montana High Country 381TH Garage Full of Toys
mtlakejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 06:51 AM   #12
jeffba
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bastrop
Posts: 2,093
M.O.C. #20753
Jim we are on standard time now vs daylight savings

I Googled atwood furnace wiring diagram and found several diagrams
__________________
2019 20th Anniversary Edition 3701LK
B&W 20K for Ford OEM Puck
2018 Ford F-350 Lariat CCLB PSD DRW
Poke super lignum unum et diem
jeffba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 08:47 AM   #13
ChuckS
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 221
M.O.C. #20949
Yes..hi limit switch would normally be closed..completing the circuit. If open then fan will still run but no command for ignition and propane will occur

Just remove the two leads from hi limit switch and verify across the hi limit switch that you have continuity.

If you donít have a meter you could.. as a TEST ONLY remove the two leads in the hi limit switch and connect them together to see if furnace will fire...

This is for testing ONLY

Note...if fan isnít coming on sail switch and hi limit switch have nothing to do with the issue
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 07:10 PM   #14
mtlakejim
Montana Master
 
mtlakejim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bee Branch
Posts: 2,169
M.O.C. #20693
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckS View Post
Yes..hi limit switch would normally be closed..completing the circuit. If open then fan will still run but no command for ignition and propane will occur

Just remove the two leads from hi limit switch and verify across the hi limit switch that you have continuity.

If you donít have a meter you could.. as a TEST ONLY remove the two leads in the hi limit switch and connect them together to see if furnace will fire...

This is for testing ONLY

Note...if fan isnít coming on sail switch and hi limit switch have nothing to do with the issue
Fan isn't running so if it isn't the sail or hi switches maybe the delay relay??

I was thinking about TESTING (trust me I understand that one==don't want to burn down the RV!!) by shorting across the switch wires (even got the quick connect spades to make a jumper--for TESTING ONLY).

I did find some info online but like I said haven't been able to get in early enough to test things.....
__________________
James & Irene Wilson
Bee Branch, AR.
2017 Ram 1 ton diesel duallyCrew Cab/Long Bed
2018 Montana High Country 381TH Garage Full of Toys
mtlakejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 10:13 PM   #15
CaptnJohn
Montana Master
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South East NC
Posts: 1,406
M.O.C. #19865
I had a 2015 Cougar. 1st trip 700 miles from home I called Atwood. No help, except to provide a list of authorized mobile techs. Called an hour after mobile tech could find nothing. New Atwood tech said get a slow burn fuse. No RV dealers had them and had no idea why a furnace would need one. No auto shops carried them. Atwood sent me 2 and I ordered 2 online. Put 1 in and never a problem.
__________________
John & Patty
2019 Montana 3761FL
2019 Lariat F350 4X4 Dually
CaptnJohn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 08:52 AM   #16
ChuckS
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 221
M.O.C. #20949
Your furnace should be the 35 series. Itís fairly straight forward to trouble shoot. Your last response states fan doesnít run

If fan doesnít run you need to verify there is 12 VDC to the fan wires and you can temp jump 12 volts to fan ... if it runs then blower motor is good and your issues lies downstream.

..sail switch
.. hi limit switch
.. control module
.. loose wire
.. etc
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg 0C9CA16A-158A-4C73-BEDE-AE7BD59E32C2.jpeg (223.6 KB, 10 views)
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 07:53 PM   #17
mtlakejim
Montana Master
 
mtlakejim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bee Branch
Posts: 2,169
M.O.C. #20693
Thanks for all the info folks. Should finally have some time to work on it over the weekend. Also plan to replace the batteries with AGMs.
__________________
James & Irene Wilson
Bee Branch, AR.
2017 Ram 1 ton diesel duallyCrew Cab/Long Bed
2018 Montana High Country 381TH Garage Full of Toys
mtlakejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 08:13 AM   #18
CaptnJohn
Montana Master
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: South East NC
Posts: 1,406
M.O.C. #19865
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtlakejim View Post
Do the auto parts stores carry those? You have to understand we are a LOOONNNGGGG way from a decent RV supply store. I know I know try the internet LOL......
I tried every auto parts store and big box store in Sarasota Fl with zero luck. Atwood sent me 2. I did find them online and ordered as I did not know which would arrive 1st. I even tried electrical supply.
__________________
John & Patty
2019 Montana 3761FL
2019 Lariat F350 4X4 Dually
CaptnJohn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 06:02 PM   #19
mtlakejim
Montana Master
 
mtlakejim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bee Branch
Posts: 2,169
M.O.C. #20693
Got it fixed!! It was bad wire on the sail switch not making good connection with the slip on female connector (IE: someone didn't strip the wire well enough).


We went ahead and dropped $400 on AGM batteries as well. We can justify the upgrade since we are full time.
__________________
James & Irene Wilson
Bee Branch, AR.
2017 Ram 1 ton diesel duallyCrew Cab/Long Bed
2018 Montana High Country 381TH Garage Full of Toys
mtlakejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 07:18 AM   #20
Rsmarlow82
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Walton
Posts: 85
M.O.C. #22550
Furnace does not light

Decided to quit overnight plenty of gas, and fan starts but no evidence of ignition

Just stated and was running just fine Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated
Rsmarlow82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×