Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > Internet & Cell Phones
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2008, 05:11 AM   #1
Alex Sian
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 169
M.O.C. #7171
Send a message via AIM to Alex Sian
New Cradlepoint MBR1000 Router does HSDPA

Even before the first shipment arrived, Cradlepoint released updated Firmware Version 1.1 for their new MBR1000 router that allows support for the same HSDPA devices that their other routers (the CTR350 and PHS300) recently started supporting.

Everyone with an AT&T/Cingular Option GT Max ExpressCard or USBConnect Sierra 881U, now have a 3G Router available with incredible WiFi N range!

The MBR1000 makes it simple to share the AT&T connection with more than one computer, either wirelessly or using an ethernet cable.

-- alex
Alex Sian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 05:33 PM   #2
sreigle
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 20,028
M.O.C. #20
Alex, the technology keeps on moving faster than I can keep up. What is HSDPA?
sreigle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2008, 05:38 PM   #3
Alex Sian
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 169
M.O.C. #7171
Send a message via AIM to Alex Sian
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by sreigle

Alex, the technology keeps on moving faster than I can keep up. What is HSDPA?
HSDPA is the high speed/broadband service that AT&T offers.

Sprint / Verizon / Alltel use a different technology called EVDO.

If you can find it, HSDPA is similar in speed to EVDO.

Problem is finding it!

HSDPA is only in about 20-30% as many places as EVDO is currently, and growing/expanding at a snail's pace, compared to EVDO.

if you already have EVDO, you're better off.

if someone is considering internet from a cellular carrier, my opinion is EVDO will be available in more places than HSDPA.
Alex Sian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 04:08 AM   #4
OntMont
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Haldimand County
Posts: 2,413
M.O.C. #122
Alex,

You, and other people, keep talking about routers. Does having a router do anything for the performance other than allow more than one computer to connect at a time? If I only have one computer, is there any additional advantage to having a router? Right now, I have a Verizon AC595U connected to a MacBook via the USB port. It seems to work OK, but I just wondered if I was missing something by not having a router.

Thanks for any advice.
OntMont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 05:54 AM   #5
Alex Sian
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 169
M.O.C. #7171
Send a message via AIM to Alex Sian
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by OntMont
I just wondered if I was missing something by not having a router.
potentially.. yes.

if you do anything like video streaming or vpn or voip or gaming :-)

the cradlepoint routers in particular, have proprietary WiPipe technology that give these connection types more 'priority', and that results in better performance, doing those things.

many of our customers "can't explain it", but tell us, "using their device with their cradlepoint router just feels faster than using the device directly connected to computer".

one more thing about using a router -- if you are like most RVers you have an antenna attached to your EVDO device... and that likely means your laptop is now tethered to an antenna cable... it might as well be a desktop computer then, since you can't carry it around.

but with a router, you can get some freedom back. the antenna still attaches to the EVDO device, but that device is now attached to a router, which allows your laptop to connect via WiFi... giving you back your wireless freedom.

to a lot of people, thats worth the cost of a router, over time.
Alex Sian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2008, 09:40 AM   #6
sreigle
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 20,028
M.O.C. #20
Also, in line with the antenna we have a 3-watt signal booster going to the router. I don't think I could easily use that booster with the card in the laptop.
sreigle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cradlepoint Router Connection to existing WiFi pbahlin Internet & Cell Phones 2 06-11-2010 04:00 AM
air card and Cradlepoint router price reduction brenkco Internet & Cell Phones 0 03-09-2009 05:20 AM
Cradlepoint MBR1000 PDF Manual Alex Sian Internet & Cell Phones 0 01-15-2009 08:43 AM
Cradlepoint CTR500/MBR1000 now with load balancing Alex Sian Internet & Cell Phones 1 08-20-2008 09:52 AM
New Cradlepoint CTR500 Router Review Alex Sian Internet & Cell Phones 0 06-06-2008 11:44 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.