Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > Let Us Entertain You
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2016, 07:19 AM   #1
Simpson9508
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hillsdale
Posts: 94
M.O.C. #13509
Hooking up satellite in 2017 3790 RD

We picked up our new 2017 3790RD yesterday. I'm trying to get everything loaded. I started looking at my satellite hookup and don't see a place to hookup my satellite receiver box. I pulled the tv out from the wall. There is a OTA connector and a cable connector but I do not see a connector for the satellite. There is a living satellite connector in the convienance center so I think there has to be something by the living room tv to hook up to. I've looked in all the cabinets on either side of the tv. Can't find anything. What am I missing?
Thx
Simpson9508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2016, 07:29 AM   #2
bigskyjimmy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington Coast
Posts: 2,688
M.O.C. #10696
I am looking at mine right now and On my 2015 the cable connection plate behind the TV has 2 jacks but it just says "cable" and they should label it clearer but on mine the top jack is for camp cable or over the air and goes the the TV and the BOTTOM jack on the plate is for the Satellite reciever and then I run the HDMI cord from the TV to the back of the Receiver as well and I am good to go
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by Simpson9508

We picked up our new 2017 3790RD yesterday. I'm trying to get everything loaded. I started looking at my satellite hookup and don't see a place to hookup my satellite receiver box. I pulled the tv out from the wall. There is a OTA connector and a cable connector but I do not see a connector for the satellite. There is a living satellite connector in the convienance center so I think there has to be something by the living room tv to hook up to. I've looked in all the cabinets on either side of the tv. Can't find anything. What am I missing?
Thx
__________________
[
bigskyjimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2016, 07:59 AM   #3
jcurtis934
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pensacola (mail forward service)
Posts: 2,092
M.O.C. #13740
Or, it could be that you didn't miss anything and the wrong face plate was installed by whatever assy worker was doing that part of the build. But I would like to think bigskyjimmy has nailed it. John
jcurtis934 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2016, 08:55 AM   #4
1retired06
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake Gaston
Posts: 6,227
M.O.C. #12156
That is the same configuration as in our 2015
__________________
Mike and Lorraine
2002 3655 FL, 2005 3650RK
2010 3665RE, 2015 3910FB
F350 crew cab dually 6.7
1retired06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2016, 11:18 AM   #5
Simpson9508
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hillsdale
Posts: 94
M.O.C. #13509
Thanks. I'll try the bottom jack.
Simpson9508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2016, 01:35 PM   #6
Traveltimers2
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #19203
also note...i talked personally with WINEGARD about the dishes and depending on what satellite you have, the Montana 3790's series do not have enough amperage from the rig back thru the receiver to the dish.

As others have noted and I found also, the X@ (which I have) takes 13 amps to run it correctly going thru the CC. If not enough amperage, satellite wont work unless hooked up directly to the receiver.

WINEGARD told me that KEYSTONE (especially Montana) did not put big enough wire in the system to sustain the correct amperage. They suggest (I believe) RG6 (?) wire. Hope this helps somewhat.
Traveltimers2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2016, 04:41 AM   #7
Ragtacker
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Victoria
Posts: 83
M.O.C. #17932
I have a Winegard Travler and three recievers all connected to the wall plugs with no issues.
Ragtacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 08:59 AM   #8
DoWeRVandHow
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Mount Vernon
Posts: 3
M.O.C. #20030
Hello all, I also have the 2017 3790 and have an issue with hooking up my dish tailgater unit. I can hear the tailgater unit trying to acquire a satellite but it never does lock on to validate the installation. Simpson9508 suggested that Montana put in a low end cable than may be the issue. Is there a way to boost the signal through the existing cable or will I have to rewire the connections in the coach?
DoWeRVandHow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 08:01 PM   #9
Simpson9508
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hillsdale
Posts: 94
M.O.C. #13509
I am using the tailgater and am not having any problems. My problem originally was the labeling on the coax jacks. I hooked the receiver into the bottom jack behind the living room tv and everything works fine.
Simpson9508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 08:20 PM   #10
carl n susan
Site Team
 
carl n susan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carmichael
Posts: 2,530
M.O.C. #4831
Last time I checked, Montana was using RG6 cable throughout the coach. It is more than good enough for our needs. As Samspson9508 suggested, check the different connections available as Montana has been know to screw them up.
__________________
Carl (n Susan) Youngren
There is more to life than fuel mileage.
2012 Montana 3700RL Big Sky Package towed by a 2015 Ford F350 6.7L PSD 4WD CC LWB

carl n susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 04:55 PM   #11
Chris&Kat
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2
M.O.C. #20435
So each TV needs its own receiver? there is no way to use one to run through the camper?
Chris&Kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 07:31 PM   #12
Simpson9508
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hillsdale
Posts: 94
M.O.C. #13509
If your satellite receiver has both an HDMI and coax out to tv connection you can hook up the HDMI to your main TV and the out to tv connection to the cable in coax via a splitter and back feed the signal to the other TV sets. The other sets will pick up the signal on channel 3 using the cable connection. Your antenna booster will need to be turned off when you do this. You also will have to watch the same channel as the main tv.
Simpson9508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help hooking up satellite to RV troutbum53 Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 31 08-22-2016 10:57 AM
Progressive IND HW-50C best place to install,3790 Jsrore Additions & Improvements 4 06-10-2016 05:13 PM
installing Carefree sideout Kover III on a 3790 Jsrore Additions & Improvements 6 05-19-2016 01:54 PM
Hooking up Satellite smfdva General Discussions about our Montanas 7 09-07-2010 03:01 PM
hooking up cable box and satellite dish et2 General Discussions about our Montanas 8 06-23-2009 12:51 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.