Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2018, 03:02 PM   #1
KevinLV
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 21
M.O.C. #22185
No airflow to rear furnace vents

Hey All. I have a HC 375FL which is only a few months old. I was testing the furnace and heat pump today. With the furnace on, I have good heat and airflow to the front living area and kitchen floor vents. However, I have no airflow to the bathroom and bedroom floor vents. Any ideas?

Thanks,
Kevin
KevinLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 03:08 PM   #2
WeBeFulltime
Montana Master
 
WeBeFulltime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hixson
Posts: 2,740
M.O.C. #11397
Check the rear of the furnace and see if one of the flexible ducts is loose or has fallen off. Historically a weak point with Montanas.
__________________
2018.5 Montana 3791RD
2012 F350 SRW 6.7 PSD

Full Timing since September 1, 2010
WeBeFulltime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 03:50 PM   #3
KevinLV
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 21
M.O.C. #22185
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeBeFulltime View Post
Check the rear of the furnace and see if one of the flexible ducts is loose or has fallen off. Historically a weak point with Montanas.
Thanks full time. Sorry for being a noob but do I remove the furnace panel on the outside of the RV to access the rear of the furnace?

Kevin
KevinLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 04:24 PM   #4
AZ Traveler
Montana Master
 
AZ Traveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Oro Valley
Posts: 1,182
M.O.C. #20477
Kevin,

You will need to access it by removing the panel near the convenience center in your flow through storage space.
__________________
Zack and Donna plus Millie
2018 Montana 3160RL
2012 F-250
"Life is too short to stay indoors, enjoy the ride!"
AZ Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 04:29 PM   #5
KevinLV
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 21
M.O.C. #22185
Thanks.
KevinLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 08:13 PM   #6
Montana Man
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Lemoore
Posts: 241
M.O.C. #21963
Same here. I found a duct not connected to the heater box. Good quality aluminum tape will seal it and hold the duct in place.
Montana Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 07:42 AM   #7
KevinLV
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 21
M.O.C. #22185
Finally removed my access panel and found 5 ducts solidly connected to the furnace. I removed one of the affected ducts and found plenty of air output from the furnace. Still no air to the rear vents though. I did pull the vents and confirm the ducting is connected to the vent housing. At this point, I feel like there must be an obstruction in both ducts or the furnace just can't push that much air. I might try an cap off the shorter runs as a test.
KevinLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 09:50 PM   #8
Montana Man
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Lemoore
Posts: 241
M.O.C. #21963
There have been numerous issues with a/c vents having crushed ducting. These issues have been diagnosed with a remote camera. Harbor freight has a cheapie camera for about $70.
Montana Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 07:53 AM   #9
vacationer
Established Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: elmvale
Posts: 43
M.O.C. #22355
now I have the 374 hc and when I took off my back panel for access I only have 2 pipes. One to heat the compartment and one to heat upstairs. mine goes directly into the floor under furnace. there is duct running to kitchen and back of the trailer to washroom and bedroom.
vacationer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 01:00 PM   #10
jsmitfl
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Victor
Posts: 861
M.O.C. #1709
Send a message via MSN to jsmitfl
Kevin, what if you take a old canister vac or shop vac and put hose on so it blows air. Take each hose off and see if it is open to the duct. Also blow from one end of duct to the other. If you have five hoses on there you maybe trying to move more air than that little furnace can move.
jsmitfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 07:57 AM   #11
KevinLV
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 21
M.O.C. #22185
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmitfl View Post
Kevin, what if you take a old canister vac or shop vac and put hose on so it blows air. Take each hose off and see if it is open to the duct. Also blow from one end of duct to the other. If you have five hoses on there you maybe trying to move more air than that little furnace can move.
Thanks that's a good idea. I will rent something from Home Depot next weekend and give it a try.

I agree it just might be too much air for the little furnace. I had a portable indoor AC unit at one time. Tried putting an extension duct and it just couldn't push that much air.
KevinLV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 06:10 PM   #12
Denny and Angie Miller
Montana Fan
 
Denny and Angie Miller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Mid Missouri
Posts: 101
M.O.C. #19889
The first time we tried using our furnace (6 months after purchase) we only had air flow from 2 of the 5 registers. 3 of our 4 heater ducts (read: flimsy, paper thin dryer vent hoses) were found "severed" from the factory. In our unit the bath and bedroom share a duct, the 2 kitchen and 1 rear vent each have their own ducts, although I don't understand why they cant combine those. The latter three were the ones found severed by the dealer. They did a piss poor job of repair...I plan on installing some rigid duct work over the winter. It will require removing the coroplast underbelly.
__________________
2017 Montana High Country 353RL
2017 Silverado 3500HD DRW CC LB 6.6L Duramax
B&W Companion
Denny and Angie Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 05:37 AM   #13
Jet334
Established Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Albany
Posts: 35
M.O.C. #20438
If it’s convenient enough I would bring it back to the dealer for warranty work.
Although it is fun to learn about our rigs why spend money when you don’t have to.
Jet334 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.