Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Repairs & Service
Click Here to Login

Old 08-18-2011, 04:52 PM   #1
thomas.wesley

M.O.C. #10904
Goodyear Tire (Marathon) blow out?

I'm traveling 90 Westbound; Badlands SD area. 8/18/2011. Mountaineer 324 RLQ. 2 axle. Pulled into shell gas station and wife noticed front right tire was basically gone. Shredded. Only edges of tire remain on each side of rim.

2011; bought new 9 months ago.

Called Keystone and they referred me to call Goodyear.

Tire tore up insulation and wood floor now exposed under wheel well. Tire also sheared off rear stabilizer motor.

I have USAA insurance, Protective Extended Warranty (Plantinum).

I'm new at this. Any guidance available from my Montana Owner friends on how to proceed?

PS> I am very disappointed in just how messed up so many of our Interstate Roads are. It seems half of the states you just slam your way along.

Thanks,
Thomas

thomas.wesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 05:36 PM   #2
DQDick
Site Team

M.O.C. #11455
There's going to be folks along who can advise you better than me, but since there's so much talk about the Marabombs on any RV Forum I've even had mine in to a Goodyear dealer to have them checked out (mine are Chinese). What I've been told is that you need to contact Goodyear and file a claim. Keep the old tire to present to them. Most folks have said that Goodyear has been very responsive as far as paying the claim goes. Doesn't make up for the situation however. After talking to the Goodyear folks and finding few tire alternatives other than the G614's that require new rims also I opted for a tire pressure monitor and am hoping for the best. I would start here: Call us at the Goodyear Customer Assistance Center:
1-800-321-2136
Monday -Friday: 8:30a.m. – 5:00p.m. ET

Dick