Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Additions & Improvements
Click Here to Login

Old 06-03-2005, 08:38 PM   #1
Fordzilla
Montana Master

M.O.C. #2819
Send a message via MSN to Fordzilla
3685 FL w/2nd A/C

I am a relative newbie here as I am in the process of purchasing my first Montana after lurking here for a few months reading posts. I wanted to add a second air conditioner to the bedroom. I was presuming the main one would be located near the center or in the living room area. Upon going to inspect the new trailer I noticed the main one is over the bedroom and if I add another one it would have to be over the kitchen area. It is pre-wired and set up to add the second unit. My big question is can the thermostat be changed to run the front one and the original or the one over the bedroom be set up to run separate from the thermostat?

Fordzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 05:29 AM   #2
Bill DeMeulle
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #2740
I have added a 2nd A/C to my 2003 3280, however it is in the bedroom. One thing you might check is the pre-wiring,I found out the pre-wiring only allows the A/C to run when the main A/C is not running,I paid to have it re-wired to allow both to run at the same time. They now work perfectly when we are in the desert.
Bill DeMeulle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 04:37 PM   #3
Broome101
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1832
What did they do to rewire it so both can run? The second AC you installed does it have controls on AC itself or did you rework it into thermostat?
Broome101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2005, 09:48 PM   #4
Northstar
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1757
And I thought when I add my second ac both would run at the same time. Something to check on when installing the 2nd ac.
Northstar is offline   Reply With Quote