Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > TIRES, Montana Tires
Click Here to Login

Old 03-29-2015, 08:19 PM   #1
Artemus Gordon
Montana Master

M.O.C. #12339
Bought Kobalt Torque Wrench!

After my friends problems with tire's, I decided to buy a torque wrench. I went to Lowes and purchased a Kobalt Wrench. $83.00 with lifetime warranty. Yes not one year but lifetime. Kobolds had good reviews, and appears to be a step above other units with 250 lb max. I (because I am not a mechanic) went to my RV repair facility and got a lesson on its proper usage and storage. I know it's long overdue, but I bought it . I have always pulled into tires shops and had lug nuts checked. Funny thing is during my course on usage, we found several lug nuts were not properly tightened. I feel it's one more way to become self reliant! Maybe it's normal, but mine came with certificate of calibration. My tire guys tested it and said it was spot on! Thanks MOC members for education on this subject!

Artemus Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 02:09 AM   #2
timandsusan
Montana Master

M.O.C. #5165
Great move and sounds like your tire shop is A+ also! I know I use my torque wrench a lot. After having my bearing repacked at my Monty Dealer, I was checking the torque when a shop manager came by and told me that I was the first RVer he had ever seen do that. And he said "GOOD JOB". Makes you think that it is a good job and needs to be done.
F-250 King Ranch Crew Cab 2012, Single Wheel, 6.7 L Diesel, Transfer Flow Internal 50 Gallon Fuel Tank, Upgraded Ford Software for 50 Gallon tank, 2006 3475Rl with Mor-ryde King Pin, 2nd AC, 2nd Battery, Pressure Pro TPMS, Wet Bolt Shackle Kit
timandsusan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 03:10 AM   #3
Tom S.
Montana Master

M.O.C. #7500