Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help
Click Here to Login

Old 03-26-2007, 07:37 AM   #1
David and Jo-Anna
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6022
Wheel chocks--what and how to setup??

I'm a newbie who has never hitched or unhitched any rig, so I'm a bit nervous about having to handle the Big Sky I'm getting delivered next month. I was just reading thru the literature that came with my Draw-tite hitch, and they repeatedly warn that I need to put a block/chock in against the front and rear of each trailer wheel when hitching and unhitching. I figure that would mean a total of 8 wheel chocks given that the rig has 4 tires. My impression is that many people use fewer than 8 chocks, and I assume this is just CYA by Draw-tite's lawyers. But I'd like to find out more about just how many chocks people use with the larger Montys, where they put them, and what type of chocks they use.

In addition, does the way you chock your wheels change when you have one set of wheels up on leveling blocks? I plan on using 4'-5' pieces of 1"x10" and/or 2"x10" boards under the tires as needed to level the low side of the Monty. When using such boards, where should the wheel chocks go?

As for type of wheel chocks, for those using plastic chocks, which size/brand of chocks do you use. For those who don't use plastic chocks, what do you use?

Appreciate any guidance you can give me. Sooooooooo much to learn.

David and Jo-Anna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2007, 07:55 AM   #2
ols1932
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1944