Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 11-13-2007, 07:16 AM   #1
Wiarton William
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #7790
A lemon year???

I am new to the forum..although I have been Rving since 2004.. I bought a 2004 Keystone Sprinter in 04 and had a few problems with it, not near what others had, we spent a total of 16 months and approx 30.000 miles on the road in the last 3 years..I upgraded to Montana this year and expected that those sprinter problems would be a thing of the past.The quality of the build and the interior is far superior to what I had...I am now having my doubts as I read thru the different topics I cant help but think,,,"did I escape the fire to land in the pan" so to speak....after reading and watching It seems that most of the problems are with units that are 3-5 years old.. and mostly the 04 Montana 3400 series models... were the 04's a bad year or is it the time frame life span things that are popping up now???..dont anyone get upset Im just enquiring..

Wiarton William is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 08:24 AM   #2
stiles watson
Montana Master

M.O.C. #2059
No one should get upset at an honest questions. Welcome to the forum. If you buy the most expensive coach available, you will still have problems. There is no manufacturer who doesn't. I think that 3400's first year was 2004. You seldom hear of the units that don't have issues because we all tend to talk about our problems rather than reporting a trouble free day.

I my opinion, to expect a trouble free unit is pie-in-the-sky thinking. I never expected a trouble free stick house. There was always something to fix or replace. The stick house wasn't subjected to the equivalent of 20 to 30 earthquakes like these RVs do when we take them on the road.