Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Solar, Charging Systems, Batteries and Electrical
Click Here to Login

Old 09-12-2012, 06:11 AM   #1
Gkerlin
Montana Master

M.O.C. #12221
Solar install

I just completed an electrical upgrade on my rig.

It consisted of new batteries, cables, electrical monitor, inverter/charger, and solar panels.

This is my first attempt at posting pictures so hopefully it all works.

I did the project in 2 phases.

First was 4 new Trojan T-125's and a plastic (starboard?) battery box from fisheries supply
Positive and negative leads come from opposite ends of battery bank for balancing the load.

Upgraded battery wiring and distributions posts laid the groundwork for the larger inverter to follow in phase 2

I'm still working on the above wiring so the fuse and post protective caps are off. I'm going to put a shutoff switch in the 4/0 gauge for the inverter.

I also installed an Electrical monitor - a Trimetric 2025 - at this point. We then took off for almost 3 months. The EMON allowed me to precisely determine my electrical needs in a real life situation. This helped me to finalize my design when we returned.

Phase 2 consisted of Installing an AC Subpanel to accept the inverter loads, installing the inverter/Charger, and the panels.

I first pulled the AC panel and relocated 5 circuits (room for 8) that I wanted to power from the inverter.

the location under the desk in my rig was perfect as it allowed me to easily relocate the circuits.

Here is the new sub-panel next to the original one