Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 10-24-2007, 08:28 PM   #1
mtofell
Established Member

M.O.C. #7825
Slide hitch or not?

I'm about to buy a 2004 2955RL to tow with my 2500 Duramax 4X4 Short Box. Do I absolutely need a slide hitch or are any of you running w/o one on a short box for that 5ver? In comparison to some other 5vers of the same size the 2955RL seems to have a somewhat forward pin.... and from the pics of the members on the site it doesn't look like it will hit. But, I'm new to 5vers and realize I could be way off on this.... Basically, I'm heading to the dealer and want to at least have some info so I know if I'm getting the run around... thanks!

Btw.... this is a great site. I just happened onto it tonight. I want to buy the Montana just so I have reason to hang out here

mtofell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 08:59 PM   #2
JH Sechelt
Montana Master

M.O.C. #4976
Better to have one and not need it, than to need one and not have it.
I have one and should have used it just one time .....they will hit.

J&D

P/S Welcome to the MOC.
JH Sechelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 04:50 AM   #3
Pete Hanson
Montana Master

M.O.C. #3543
I have a short bed Dodge and an older 2955RL. I use the Pullrite automatic slider for a hitch and would do it all over again for the peace of mind. It may be an expensive solution but I can tow worry free regarding encountering sharp turns. There have been a few times when I've had to pretty much jacknife the trailer into a site and the hitch worked flawlessly. With my memory the way it is I know I would have forgotten to activate a manual slider. That being said, the slider is not needed about 95% of the time.
Pete Hanson is offline   Reply With Quote