Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Additions & Improvements
Click Here to Login

Old 06-17-2008, 12:37 PM   #1
RKassl
Montana Master

M.O.C. #3699
Can You Tell Me How

I am no electrician. I would like to put a 120 V outlet in the basement of my 2955rl. I think I need to bring a wire from the fuse box to the new socket. What type of wire would you use? How do you hook up the wire in the fuse box? Any help will be most appreciated.

I told you I am no electrician! :-)

RKassl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:02 PM   #2
H. John Kohl
Montana Master

M.O.C. #311
Send a message via AIM to H. John Kohl Send a message via MSN to H. John Kohl Send a message via Yahoo to H. John Kohl
Bob,
You have admitted not knowing much about electricity. That makes you a safer man than I because I think I know a little but am not licensed. With that statement I suggest this is one time you hire a certified electrician to do the work. You are asking the right question but it has too many options and "y's" in the road to easily answer. The size wire depends on the expected current usage.
A couple owners have had electrical problems to include fires in their unit so, with that thought (concern) I again suggest you get an electrician to help guide you on this one.
Best of luck,
Cheers,
H. John Kohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:16 PM   #3
exav8tr
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6333
Bob, I put working with electricity in the same category as fondling a snake, both I am deathly afraid of. I would like to do the same as you but I must defer to a qualified electrician, probably when I get to the fall rally........I do know one thing: Fuses go with DC and circuit breakers go with AC, I think......
exav8tr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 02:36 PM   #4
bncinwv
Montana Master