Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 11-16-2005, 12:52 AM   #1
315RLS
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1900
New standard features

In the lower right picture is the standard bike rack and carrier tray. What a great addition. Wish it was there on our 2004 model
http://keystone-mountaineer.com/?page=gallery

315RLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 01:35 AM   #2
Champ203
Established Member

M.O.C. #4767
we have one on the back of our 319BHS 5er, I am still learning to use it as it is basically a plastic tray supported by metal framework (200 lb limit) and a metal post sticking up to secure things to. My observations so far are (1) that you can put 3 adult bikes on it and you have to be creative to strap them down. (2) It extends the rear of your coach about 2 feet and it would be very easy to leave the whole rack stuck to a tree or guard rail when manuevering in a tight space (I missed a tree by an inch on our first trip last week-end). But with all of that said it was one of the reasons that we bought the Mountaineer.

Champ203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2005, 03:01 AM   #3
jpbcny
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #4571
I use it while boondocking, as a platform for my Honda 2000 Generator. Convenient to lock it up, close enough to my marine style electric inlet that I don't need to use any cords, I just use my 50 AMP to 30 AMP adapter, then step it down to 20 AMPs (Generator Max is 16.6 AMPs), the length of the dog bone adapter (18") is more than enough to reach the generator in its elevated position on the carrier.