Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > TIRES, Montana Tires
Click Here to Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2019, 10:25 AM   #1
ebds2019
Established Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Martinez
Posts: 12
M.O.C. #23940
TST 507 Repeater

Hi everyone. Since getting my new 3810MS I am finding that my TST 507 is having trouble maintaining connection to the RV tires. I have the repeater and I know that it is supposed to be connected to the RV batteries.

My question is: Can I just connect the repeater wires directly to the battery or do I have to do something else? Will direct connection kill the RV battery eventually?

Getting ready to permanently move from California to Las Vegas in three weeks and want to make sure the tire monitors are working properly for that and future trips.

Rob
ebds2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 10:32 AM   #2
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 5,016
M.O.C. #6433
You can connect direct to the battery. But it would eventually drain the battery if you store the trailer without shore power. Some people add an in line switch to be able to turn it on and off.

I mounted mine in the back window of my truck. But I have a factory 12 v outlet under the back seat I could plug into. But I also spliced in an in line switch in the repeater cord to be easy to turn on and off.
__________________
Bill & Patricia

2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 12:45 PM   #3
rescue7
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Traverse City
Posts: 135
M.O.C. #15913
I have a 12 v outlet in the bedroom. Plug it in there and works great.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 dually
2014 3725RL
rescue7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:37 PM   #4
Jeff Csillag
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Livermore
Posts: 5
M.O.C. #19633
I connected mine to my electric landing gear circuit and it works fine. When the trailer is not in use I shut off the trailer power and there is no power drain . I don’t like that it’s on all the time but it’s been 1.5 years with no issues.
__________________

Jeff/Ann Csillag 2012 Ram 3500 SRW Mega Cab 4x4 - 2016 Montana High Country 370 BR
Jeff Csillag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 03:33 PM   #5
bigred715
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eugene
Posts: 937
M.O.C. #5091
My repeater is located in front closet and I wired to a 12 volt light in the closet. Works fine. When in Arizona I just take the fuse out while there and replace when getting ready for trip home.
bigred715 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 04:24 PM   #6
DQDick
Montana Master
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 16,243
M.O.C. #11455
Mine is in the back window of my truck. Used a 12v extension cord that I cut and spliced the repeater into.
__________________
Dick and Joyce, Wilsey, KS & Lakewood, NM
2017 3720 RL, MorRyde pin box
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi Cab DRW 4X4, Pullrite Hitch
IS, Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Bathroom door mod, DM 320 etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 08:54 PM   #7
MidMOTraveler
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Fulton
Posts: 321
M.O.C. #20688
Mounted in 5’er battery area just above the door. I use the alligator clips on the 1 battery and haven’t had a problem.
__________________
Wayne & Malinda
2018 Montana 3731FL
2017 F450 DRW KR 4x4
MidMOTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 10:06 AM   #8
BandBmalin
Established Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Plant City
Posts: 48
M.O.C. #22581
Mine is hooked to the battery and then mounted under the fiver as far back as I could get it since I'm also wanting to pick up the smart trailer. No issues, but I also store mine with shore power on it.
BandBmalin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 11:20 AM   #9
Arkware
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Mena
Posts: 181
M.O.C. #17723
also mounted mine in the battery area, on the back wall.
since I always drive with the lights on, ( the running lights on the trailer is our check that we haven't forgotten to plug in...don't ask )
I found the running lights wires on the side and spliced it in to them.
__________________
Ron & Rhonda
2015 Montana 3611RL 8K I.S., Disk Brakes, Sailun Tires
2015 F350 XLT Crew Dually 20K B&W Companion
Arkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 11:29 AM   #10
waynemoore
Montana Master
 
waynemoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Havasu City AZ.
Posts: 1,667
M.O.C. #10552
Running lights a great idea.
__________________
Wayne and Ann Moore
2015 Ford F-350 King Ranch
Firestone air bags, bed saver.
Add 40 GAL tank in bed.
waynemoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 05:25 AM   #11
Arkware
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Mena
Posts: 181
M.O.C. #17723
Thanks Wayne.
I had just changed the observation camera to operate off the running lights and this seemed like a logical solution.
and then sometimes I just get lucky!
__________________
Ron & Rhonda
2015 Montana 3611RL 8K I.S., Disk Brakes, Sailun Tires
2015 F350 XLT Crew Dually 20K B&W Companion
Arkware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 01:48 PM   #12
Half Fast Rusty
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mount Shasta
Posts: 84
M.O.C. #18143
I mounted mine in the battery area (Velcro to the side wall below the hydraulic valves) wired directly to the batteries. I remove the inline fuse when I want to disconnect for storage.
__________________
2017 Ram 3500, Aisen Trans, Short bed Crew Cab. B&W OEM Slider,
2018 Montana 3810MS

Russ & Nancy Porterfield
Half Fast Rusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 01:51 PM   #13
Sparatacus
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Lakewood
Posts: 80
M.O.C. #24110
I'm planning on getting a TST 507 TMPS this is what I need to know.
__________________
2017 Dodge Ram 2500 6.7L Diesel Cummins Turbo
2019 Jayco Eagle 321RSTS 5th Wheel
Retired Army MSG
Sparatacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 01:23 PM   #14
Snowhyt
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Snohomish
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #6989
I wired my repeater to a light in the basement storage area using a lighted switch so I can tell at a glance if it is on.
Snowhyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 01:49 PM   #15
masterdrago
Montana Fan
 
masterdrago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Willis
Posts: 498
M.O.C. #20587
I mounted mine above the inverter cutoff switch and wired to the battery through a easily reach switch in the street side LP compartment. No need for it to be powered all the time.



__________________
2018 Montana 3791RD
2017 Ram 3500 DRW 6.7 Cummins Aisin, B&W RVK3600
masterdrago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 01:56 PM   #16
davemitchell59
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Tupelo
Posts: 78
M.O.C. #23524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Csillag View Post
I connected mine to my electric landing gear circuit and it works fine. When the trailer is not in use I shut off the trailer power and there is no power drain . I donít like that itís on all the time but itís been 1.5 years with no issues.
I did the same. I didn't want to have to mess with it if I pulled the battery, so connected down stream. Seems to be working fine.

I do pull the battery or disconnect it when it is going to sit for awhile. And have a battery tender or leave shore power connected when there is a short time between trips.
davemitchell59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 03:19 PM   #17
dvines
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: YULEE
Posts: 11
M.O.C. #21453
I wired mine into the inverter terminals and mounted it on the aluminum frame in the storage area adjacent to the inverter. Power to the repeater is controlled via the inverter disconnect in the battery compartment.
__________________
Jim & Debbie Vines
Yulee, FL
2018 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 6.7 with manual transmission
2018 Montana High Country 321MK
dvines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 03:23 AM   #18
goodellj
Established Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Newington
Posts: 40
M.O.C. #20452
Send a message via AIM to goodellj Send a message via MSN to goodellj Send a message via Yahoo to goodellj
I put the repeater in the front compartment on the back wall and wired it to a nearby light for power, with an inline switch. TST recommends using the front compartment and direct-connect to the battery with alligator clips, but I hated having such a lazy crummy connection method.
__________________
John & Janet from Connecticut
2012 Keystone Montana 3150RL
2012 Ford F350 Diesel 4x4 Lariat Crewcab SRW
goodellj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 02:26 AM   #19
Sparatacus
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Lakewood
Posts: 80
M.O.C. #24110
Do you guys have any more pics, I'm planning on getting one soon?
__________________
2017 Dodge Ram 2500 6.7L Diesel Cummins Turbo
2019 Jayco Eagle 321RSTS 5th Wheel
Retired Army MSG
Sparatacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 01:54 PM   #20
richfaa
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Ridgeville
Posts: 19,588
M.O.C. #2839
We did not need the repeater with our 06 3400 and we did not need it with our 13 3402. We just purchased the new TST system and will see if we need the repeater.
richfaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.