Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC on M.A.R.S. > Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2005, 04:22 PM   #1
Trailer Trash 2
Montana Master
 
Trailer Trash 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Fe Springs
Posts: 4,189
M.O.C. #639
RG6U

What is the differance between RG6U and RG79 or 8 whatever its supose to be. can I use it on my TV with a regular TV antenna that has that type screw on conector. the only thing I see is the 6 is fatter than the other stuff.
__________________
Pulling a 2004, 2980 RL an oldie but goodie.
Tow vehicle is a 2009 RED RAM 3500 DRW.
Trailer Trash 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2005, 05:59 PM   #2
Montana_381
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Wharton
Posts: 134
M.O.C. #381
No, you'll need a transformer to change from 75 Ohm [coax] to 300 Ohm [twin-lead] impedance.

RG6 has far lower loss than the RG59 but, as you say, it's fatter, stiffer, and harder to pull through walls.

For the minimal distance you'd be running it, RG59 is both cheaper and easier to store. Pre-fabbed "jumpers" are only a couple of bucks at WallyWorld where they also have the impedance-matching transformers.
Montana_381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2005, 07:23 PM   #3
Trailer Trash 2
Montana Master
 
Trailer Trash 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Fe Springs
Posts: 4,189
M.O.C. #639
Thanks Bob!
I have purchased all of the conectors at Radio Shack including the crimping tool. I don't want to make a bunch of conectors and find out after I made them they arn't compatable with the job I intended them to do.
__________________
Pulling a 2004, 2980 RL an oldie but goodie.
Tow vehicle is a 2009 RED RAM 3500 DRW.
Trailer Trash 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2005, 04:16 AM   #4
Montana_657
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Monominto
Posts: 731
M.O.C. #657
I presume you noticed RG6 and RG59 conectors are a bit different?? The tube size of the RG 6 is slightly larger to slip over the low loss dieletric. You can get an RG6 concetor onto RG59 but not the other way around.
Montana_657 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 07:52 AM   #5
jayers
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Castle
Posts: 32
M.O.C. #2876
Like Bob said RG-59 is easer to use and as far as loss goes at 500Mhz and every 100' RG-59 loses 5.7db RG-6 loses 4.66db RG-7 loses 3.82db and RG-11 loses 3.17db. The cable they use to get the signal to your home loses 1.1db per 100' and fiber loses .35db/km



John
jayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 09:45 AM   #6
Trailer Trash 2
Montana Master
 
Trailer Trash 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Fe Springs
Posts: 4,189
M.O.C. #639
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by jayers

Like Bob said RG-59 is easer to use and as far as loss goes at 500Mhz and every 100' RG-59 loses 5.7db RG-6 loses 4.66db RG-7 loses 3.82db and RG-11 loses 3.17db. The cable they use to get the signal to your home loses 1.1db per 100' and fiber loses .35db/km



John
Ok thats a lot of wire and a lot of loss in your db gain for the diferent size wire. so would I use an amplifer at the end of the 100' section then continue on to the tv I know I will never use that much cable in my Monty but I could in my house. Thanks for the good information everybody have a great weekend.

TT2
__________________
Pulling a 2004, 2980 RL an oldie but goodie.
Tow vehicle is a 2009 RED RAM 3500 DRW.
Trailer Trash 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 10:30 AM   #7
faeb and genb
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location:
Posts: 1,804
M.O.C. #57
My Dish Network said that RG 59 wouldn't carry the Satalite signal. I have used it sometimes it works & other times it dosen't. I finnaly got rid of the RG 59 to save from changing from one to the other.
Gene
faeb and genb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 03:32 PM   #8
richfaa
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Ridgeville
Posts: 19,757
M.O.C. #2839
NOTE..On Satilite systems..you MUST use RG-6 from the dish to the input of the Sat receiver.You may use RG-59 from the output of the rec to the TV set. You may use up to 100 ft of RG-6 from the dish to the rec with out significant loss.
Just to be very simple..The feq carrying capibilities of the RG-6 match the freq of the Sat signal..RG-59 is designed for regular TV freqs.
richfaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×