Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > Let Us Entertain You
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2007, 12:43 AM   #1
old turbo
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Mayville
Posts: 629
M.O.C. #2486
Dish Receiver Hookup

Just had my stick house changed to dish DVR receiver. Tech sez do not try to put the DVR unit in 5vr because unit will not take a lot of bounce. I am going to put the old 2700 receiver in the 5vr. I Have the Dish 500 . I am not sure about how to run all the cables and have everything work. I have the analog tv and a vcr dvd combo.I would like to wire it so when you are on the road and the dish is not set up you can still play the tv. We will only run the living room tv off sat. I will run my cable from the dish through the small slide window. Wireing is not one of my skills.
old turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 01:43 AM   #2
SlickWillie
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location:
Posts: 2,376
M.O.C. #6575
Best thing to do if your TV has multiple video inputs is run RCA audio/video cables from the Dish Receiver to the TV. Then for Dishnet, merely switch TV to that video input. That way, you won't have to change any existing cable connections.
SlickWillie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 03:42 AM   #3
hookman
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 1,471
M.O.C. #6237
On your receiver there is a place for antenna in so run the antenna wire to that one and the satellite cable to the satellite in connection that should work for you. If you are or are not hooked up to satellite leave the satellite receiver off turn on the antenna booster and you should get TV or park cable
hookman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 03:45 AM   #4
Waynem
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas City
Posts: 5,732
M.O.C. #7673
i have the DISH 722 DVR and pull it from the house to the RV whenever we travel. I stick it under the TV in the cabinet while traveling to keep it from running all over the place. You could just buy a foam filled box at Fry's or some other electronics store and put it in the box. I do the two DVD screens for the back of the King Ranch that way.

For hook-up, I have a King Dome and there are two lines coming in from it. (I just recently pulled a connector off and am using only one feed.) I have the 3400RL.

On the back of the receiver run cable into Sat I and Sat 2 and run the feed in. On the wall in cabinet ther are three RF connectors. One is a jumper. The other is the feed from the outside. (You should be able to use that also, but not sure) If you use the outside line in, you will have to use the switching mechanism provided by DISH (See: http://www.montanaowners.com/forums/...3&SearchTerms=,)
From the back of the DVR, hook the output to the top jumper. leave the bottom one hanging (or free) Take both remotes with you. (Also the RF antenna provided by dish hooks to the back of the Dvr.

Enjoy two televisions both viewing different channels.
Waynem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2007, 11:55 AM   #5
Exnavydiver
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Land O Lakes
Posts: 2,742
M.O.C. #7753
Send a message via AIM to Exnavydiver Send a message via MSN to Exnavydiver Send a message via Yahoo to Exnavydiver
We have been hauling a Directv DVR around for the last two years, no problems. First in the Jayco and now in the Big Sky. I won't worry about it anyway, I pay the extra 4.00 a month for the repair service and if it takes a dump I get a new one, no charge. If you hae to pay for the equipment and service, use it, let them pay for the repairs... Dave and Betsy
Exnavydiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 01:39 PM   #6
snfexpress
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South
Posts: 2,499
M.O.C. #5140
We have the Dish 625 DVR and have bounced it over 10,000 miles (estimated). No problems.
snfexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 01:54 PM   #7
mojo7911
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Emery
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #7986
We have a dish 625 DVR receiver in an 07 Montana. Just strap it down with the Quest receiver and it travels fine. We run both TV's on it, just plug into same outlet as cable, make sure to turn off boster on unit antenna.
mojo7911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 02:34 PM   #8
Waynem
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Texas City
Posts: 5,732
M.O.C. #7673
If you have the Viewsonic TV that comes with the 07, plug the dish into YbPbr. If you are not interested in watching Satellite in the bedroom, turn the amplifier on. Use the Viewsonic PIP to switch between Satellite and TV for local channels. When you walk into the bedroom and want to watch satellite, turn the amp off. By the way, I do not use the outside RF connector, but have a king dome and feed directly to the back of the satellite receiver. See my previous posts.
Waynem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dish receiver on top of TV caroldee2735 Let Us Entertain You 8 08-05-2015 10:27 AM
Dish VIP 211 receiver for sale brenkco Trailers, Tow Vehicles & RV related items for Sale 0 09-25-2013 12:26 PM
Dish DVR Hookup to Bedrom jetenbu Additions & Improvements 16 01-27-2012 05:00 AM
Direct TV/Satellite Dish hookup Montana_3017 Let Us Entertain You 7 10-21-2006 03:18 PM
Dish Hookup on 3000RK rrheik Let Us Entertain You 0 10-16-2006 07:58 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×