Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help
Click Here to Login

Old 07-24-2008, 01:57 PM   #1
CmdrDewey
Montana Master

M.O.C. #433
GFI (UPDATE)

I have a 2005 3400. A couple of months ago the GFI on the kitchen circuit kept popping and I could find nothing amiss so I replaced it. It is now happening again.
My question is; Is there a way to diagnose where and what, the problem might be? I have a circuit checker and when it isn't popped it checks out fine. I also have an amperage gauge and that shows plenty of power as well. I am no electrician so all those terms you use to describe which wire is which are all greek to me. Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks

Carol, yes we were in the middle of a driving downpour. The problem is now fixed. The outlet box on the Living/dining slide under the lamp was the problem. It looked like at some time, someone had driven staples through both the white and black wires (not at the same time). All of the cable covering was shredded and there were several holes in each wire. I'm pretty sure that moisture was getting into the wire as Carol suggested. Electrical tape around each wire separately and then around the whole fixed that and hopefully we won't have that problem again. There wasn't enough wire to do the job right.

Thank you all for the help

David

CmdrDewey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 02:02 PM   #2
Mrs. CountryGuy
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6337
Any chance you have washed the rig, or had a tremendous amount of rain??

We have had the GFI pop when the outside receptacle got wet.

Now, the real electricians can step in and tell you what is really wrong!
Mrs. CountryGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 02:33 PM   #3
Charlie
Montana Master

M.O.C. #3029