Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 10-10-2007, 01:48 PM   #1
richfaa
Montana Master

M.O.C. #2839
Learning about diesels

Now that I have a diesel of my very own I am doing my home work on the care and feeding of same. Although I have been driving diesels for over 8 years that is all I did..drive them and fuel them..other folks took care of them. The Cetane rating(not to be confused with Octane rating) is of interest. The cetane rating indicates how easily the fuel ignites and how fast it will burn. Ford recommended a cetane rating of 45. Most diesel comes at the pumps with a rating of anywhere bewteen 42 and 46..we never know for sure what it really is. Higer speed diesel operate more effectively with higher cetane numbers. There is no advantage of a cetane number of over 55. This leads me to beleive that a cetane booster additive may be advantages and improve performance.I note that most additives indicate a increase in the cetene numbers of 3 to 6.. That soundw like a good thing.... What think you???? Am also learning about a lot of Myths and wives tales about diesel additives..Like adding gas to diesel during cold weather(even I knew that was a dumb thing) and adding used motor oil to diesel fuel..The things folks do////

richfaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 02:04 PM   #2
Mudchief
Montana Master

M.O.C. #4961
Rich, I have been driving diesel pickup truck for years. All I have done is change the fuel filters often and purchase my fuel from places that move a lot of diesel. Never used any additives . The truck I have now loves it when I pull the Montana because that is the lightest thing it pulls.
1200 watts of Solar
Mudchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 02:21 PM   #3
ols1932
Montana Master