Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > On the Road Again
Click Here to Login

Old 01-30-2006, 10:23 AM   #1
sreigle
Montana Master

M.O.C. #20
good route from moab, ut, to tropic, ut?

I'm just beginning to plan our route from Mission, TX, to Moab, UT, then to around Tropic, UT, then on to Mt. Shasta for the rally.

Moab and Tropic are tentative. Looking at the routes, we could go from Moab to Tropic by going north on US 91, west on I-70, then south on US 89, then east on UT 12 to Tropic.

However, we've done I-70 before and would like to see something new when enroute. The following looks interesting but I'm not sure if these are decent roads to tow a Montana. And I'm not sure we would be allowed to tow through Capitol Reef National Park. Or would we want to?

US 91 north to I-70
I-70 West to UT 24
UT 24 south and west through Capitol Reef NP to UT 12 near Torrey, UT
UT 12 south through Escalante and the Grand Staircase to Tropic.

That looks like a slow, curvy set of roads but looks far more interesting than the other route.

We plan, tentatively, to be in/near Moab for a month, then a month in/near Tropic. Haven't checked cg's yet. Will post another thread about that.

Would appreciate comments on the routing from those who have been there, done that, or know the area. Any other route we should consider?

Thanks.

sreigle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 03:05 PM   #2
Parrothead
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1989
Send a message via MSN to Parrothead
Steve
We've been on those routes but we weren't towing. I do remember seeing lots of RVs though. Wished we had been towing as there aren't many facilities in some of that area! Beautiful, beautiful country. I'll bet Pete can help you if he is on.
Happy trails...........................
Parrothead is offline   Reply With Quote