Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Repairs & Service
Click Here to Login

Old 03-21-2024, 10:53 AM   #1
Sprky

M.O.C. #33951
Broken window

I rubbed a tree last weekend and broke the window in the door. It was dark and I couldn’t see. Lippert quoted a price of 400 dollars. Is there some place cheaper? Do you think a local glass guy could handle this? Is there anything special I need to know? I’m new to the fifth wheel. I tow a cargo trailer all the time. But this 41 footer is a whole new beast.

Oh it’s a 3950br

Sprky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2024, 01:25 PM   #2
Mikendebbie
Montana Master

M.O.C. #21044
Rec Pro has this glass replacement but I did not check dimensions against our Montana doors - which came from Lippert. If it was my door I would sure try to figure out how to do the replacement myself.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2024-03-21_14-23-34.png
Views:	17
Size:	266.7 KB
ID:	16718  
Aussie Gus + Texas Heeler Jimmy
Mikendebbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2024, 02:07 PM   #3
Hblick48
Montana Master

M.O.C. #21903
Check with your local glass shop. Vandals broke 2 of my windows. Local glass company replaced for under $300
Hblick48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2024, 06:19 PM   #4
Carl n Susan
Site Team

M.O.C. #4831
What year Montana do you have?
Older models used a two piece frame that screwed together and pinched the glass in between. .Newer models use a two piece frome but the window is held in by a rubber grommet (for lack of a better term).

Both are easy to remove and have a glass shop fab up a replacement piece. You can also make a trip to Los Algadones, Mexico (outside Yuma, AZ) and buy a stained glass replacement for relatively little.

Carl n Susan is offline   Reply With Quote