Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MONTANA OWNERS CLUB COMMUNITY > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2017, 07:21 AM   #1
ChrisW
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 3
M.O.C. #20695
Post 2013 Mountaineer 295RKD 120V question

Just bought this 295RKD. Owners manual is terrible, covers all Keystone RVs, not specific enough. Hoping to connect to other 295RKD owners for questions, tips. Just plugged into the house and no 120V items work, eg microwave, fridge, TV, fireplace, ceiling fan, A/C. Checked cord. Will check all fuses today. Anybody know of a simple switch that we missed? Thanks.
ChrisW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:08 AM   #2
cw3jason
Montana Fan
 
cw3jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Stafford Springs
Posts: 480
M.O.C. #17256
Main breaker in RV or because of extension cord being to light a wire gage, check your house breakers, probably tripped one in the house. need to use an extension cord rated for 20amps and do not plug into a GFCI outlet.
__________________
Jason & Wendy
2014 Ford F-350 Lariat 6.7L PSD
2015 Keystone Montana 3711FL
cw3jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 08:40 AM   #3
ChrisW
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 3
M.O.C. #20695
Thanks, we’ll check those.
ChrisW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 09:17 AM   #4
DQDick
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Council Grove
Posts: 13,852
M.O.C. #11455
You also won't be able to run much on 20amps. The amp draw on things you don't think about like the frig and water heater, if not turned off will get you once something else is turned on if not before. Remember, your 50amp rig has two 50amp sides to it so 20amps is minimal compared to the 100 it normal has to choose from.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 03:17 PM   #5
ChrisW
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 3
M.O.C. #20695
Thanks for all the suggestions. The answer was that we were using a splitter of some sort to step 50 amps down to 30 amps and then plugged that into the 120v house shore line. The 50amp to 30 amp splitter had half of the RV on each end! So one splitter had the living area 120v items and the other end has the bedroom a/c 120V etc. phew... it was about to get very expensive as we thought it needed professional help! We presume that is used if you can only get 30amps so you can plug into two outlets and get both ends of the RV working?
ChrisW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 12:21 AM   #6
rohrmann
Montana Master
 
rohrmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 1,684
M.O.C. #12947
I think you misunderstood the 50 amp to 30 amp adapter. Inside the adapter, the single 30 amp hot wire is split to feed both the 50 amp legs going into the trailer. So, if you took a voltmeter and checked voltage across the two 50 amp legs at the trailer, you will get 0 volts, because they are the same leg coming from the single 120 volt leg at the adapter. You will only have whatever the capacity of the one leg going to the trailer, 30 amps if plugged into a true 30 amp outlet, or 15 or 20 amps, depending on the house circuit you plug into if you also use an adapter to reduce the 30 amp plug down to fit a regular house receptacle. Additional resistance of small extension cords will also reduce available power, so very little can be run in your rig when plugged into a standard outlet.
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402RL
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC 4WD
rohrmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 11:35 PM   #7
twindman
Montana Master
 
twindman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Mesa
Posts: 977
M.O.C. #5651
I used to run 1 A/C unit on a 15 amp circuit, but as it heated up the amperage went from around 13 steadily up to 16 or 17. When the unit has sat around a while, the converter will pump out 6-8 amps to charge batteries. Then for each light (12v) you turn on, the 120 circuit amps would increase 1.5-2.0 amps. So it doesn't take much to hit the 15 amp limit.
Edit: I now use a 30 amp circuit I installed. Much better!
__________________

Tom and Gail
2013 Mountaineer 362
2012 Silverado 2500
twindman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
120v

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.