Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Additions & Improvements
Click Here to Login

Old 07-26-2009, 05:26 AM   #1
elwood
Established Member

M.O.C. #9473
Before hooking up 50 amp service?

Hey Folks, I am going out next weekend for the first time with our new Monty and this is also the first time I have ever used 50 amp service. Is there anything I should know before plugging in? Do I need anything special to check the power from the campground prior to plugging in? I am a mechanic and not an electrician so any help would be appreciated. Elwood

elwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 06:11 AM   #2
richfaa
Montana Master

M.O.C. #2839
We have a PT 50 surge protector and let that check the power at the pole BEFORE allowing power to the camper. It would be a good idea to invest in a "good" protective device. At any rate turn the power at the power pole off, plug in the camper then turn it on. Look for anything unusual like burn or scorch marks around the plug. I assume you do not have a volt meter to check the volts on legs of the 50 amp service. That is so a good investment. Good protection is not cheap.

http://www.progressiveindustries.net/ems_pt50c.htm
richfaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 09:52 AM   #3
NCFischers
Montana Master

M.O.C. #8728
Send a message via Yahoo to NCFischers
Jerry,
A good multimeter and a little instruction on it's use and you'll be able to check campground power before you plug in. Do you have any surge protection on your rig? If not, that would be a smart first mod. It might be a bit late to do anything about it before next weekend but I'd look into it pretty soon.
Jim
NCFischers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 10:00 AM   #4
KTManiac
Montana Master

M.O.C. #8818
Jim,