Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 08-24-2013, 02:16 PM   #1
Narlywarrior
Established Member

M.O.C. #13710
Need help from experienced brain trust.

Hello,

I am a newbie and would like to solicit your suggestions on the following questions,

1.What type of second A/C unit is the best to get?

2. Can anyone reccomend a good washer/dryer set up.

3. Generator ? gas,diesel,or LP..... Or should I get a couple of hondas and leave them in the back of the truck ?

4. We have a 2003 F-250 with a 7.3 engine. does my truck have enough suspension to pull my 3400RL ? If not, could I do it with air bags or extra leave spring. Or both.

5. If money where no object what brand and type of 5th wheel hitch would you buy ?

Thank you.

Louie

Narlywarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:29 PM   #2
TLightning
Montana Master

M.O.C. #7871
Welcome to the forum...

1. Low profile Dometic.
2. Splendide...not the stackable, wastes too much space.
3. Hondas.
4. A gas 3/4 is way way short of GCW capability to haul a 3400. Air bags and/or springs will not help. You need a 350/3500 series truck.
5. I like the sliding bar on the Husky, although any will work.

Good luck.
TLightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 02:46 PM   #3
Narlywarrior
Established Member

M.O.C. #13710
Hi TLightning,

Thanks for the info.

My truck is a 3/4 diesel. Looks like I may need to upgrade truck which is a bummer because it's a 7.3 with 35,000 mile on it.

I need to start shopping !
Old 08-24-2013, 02:53 PM   #4
K0LCB
Montana Master

M.O.C. #13395
A 1 ton truck will be a safer tow vehicle. I like the dual rear wheels for the wider stance and extra rubber on the road. I use a Splendide combo and like it
K0LCB is offline   Reply With Quote