Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > Navigation
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2019, 09:38 AM   #1
Petmoose
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Denton
Posts: 255
M.O.C. #12532
Allstays ?

We have used a Rand McNally gps device for the past 4 years and are tired of being routed into places I can barely get out of, rough back roads when nice highways are parallel to it, routed to the middle of nowhere, etc. We have heard great things about Allstays and have the app, however the developer has told me that the reason that he does not do routing is the legal liability. So, for those that use Allstays how do you use it. The issue is the low clearance is great but is there a way to,”overlay” that to a route map? The only reason that the Rand McNally has been kept is for the low clearances issue and because of the other errors I am becoming suspicious of that at times. Does Allstays Pro add anything useful ? Thanks.
Petmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 10:54 AM   #2
Loneoak
Montana Master
 
Loneoak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Winchester
Posts: 623
M.O.C. #19514
I use it to find campgrounds and places to stay. If I have a height concern, I look at various sources like the trucker road atlas, Allstays and various other apps, etc. I sometimes even do a street view of the structure I am concerned with. We also have an RV gps.

As for the pro version, I don’t know what I have. I bought it a few years ago.
__________________

2017 High Country 305RL
2015 Ford F-250 Super Duty
Loneoak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 11:41 AM   #3
jeffba
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bastrop
Posts: 2,024
M.O.C. #20753
If I am going to a new area, I use Google maps, Allstays (it will show bridge heights) Gamin, and trucker atlas. I also use Mountain West Directory for Mountain pass info.

I then have my route planned and use the GPS. I'll ignore it if it tries to deviate my route. Unless of course it flags a low bridge I missed

I try REAL hard to keep my ACs intact
__________________
2019 20th Anniversary Edition 3701LK
B&W 20K for Ford OEM Puck
2018 Ford F-350 Lariat CCLB PSD DRW
Poke super lignum unum et diem
jeffba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 12:27 PM   #4
daveinaz
Montana Fan
 
daveinaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Sun City
Posts: 329
M.O.C. #23256
We have the Allstays app, but only use it to find campgrounds, not for trip routing. We have triptics from AAA and I also use google maps and my garmin gps. I also have a truckers atlas that I look at to make sure there aren't any low clearance bridges to worry about. I used to have a trucking GPS. Not sure if I'll get another one or just stick with my regular garmin.
__________________

Dave in AZ
2008 Montana 3400RL
2008 Dodge Ram 3500 Diesel Dually
daveinaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 02:01 PM   #5
davemitchell59
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Tupelo
Posts: 82
M.O.C. #23524
Newbie of sort so maybe this is a naïve question. but are their a lot of low clearance bridges out there? I assume if you're staying on arterial roadways for the most part, you aren't going to encounter anything under 14', or 13-6 for most of us.


I'm not so naïve to not check when I'm going off the beaten path, but should I be wary when traveling on State Highways or the Interstate system? I trust low clearance on those roadways are going to have sufficient warning signs for truckers and such.
__________________
Dave and Deb
Practicing for Retirement
2016 GMC 3500 Duramax Dually
2017 Montana 3731FL
davemitchell59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 02:15 PM   #6
Theunz
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Catoosa
Posts: 440
M.O.C. #18384
We use a Garmin DEZL gps. It sometimes adds some distance to our trip, but tends to keep you off winding, narrow, or low clearance roads. In other words, keeps you on roads suitable for Semi’s. However, whenever you get on secondary roads, city streets, and especially private property, you had better be looking up! That being said, you may also miss some scenic drives. A little prior planning will help you decide which route you desire and feel comfortable with.
__________________
2015 3100RL legacy...2005 Ford F-250 CC SB. Tows like a charm! 4/19 Updated to 2017 Chevy 3500 CC SB SRW -hope it tows as well as my F 250 did!
Theunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 02:16 PM   #7
summer home
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Myrtle Beach
Posts: 71
M.O.C. #21038
We have a Rand McNally RV GPS... has not routed us anywhere we can't go........
However, if you don't use the set up screen to put in your specs (height, etc) it can't help you..
summer home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 09:45 PM   #8
Hblick48
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Folsom, California
Posts: 198
M.O.C. #21903
We have Rand McNally Good Sam GPS. You could plan your trip online (good sam.com) and then download it to the gps.

I planned 2 coast to coast trips online and rv routing alerted me to Lp tunnel restrictions in Baltimore. Corrected route online and then downloaded multiple stop trip. Also warned about low underpasses which you most likely will find on secondary roads.

Unfortunately, Good Sam just discontinued their relationship with their map provider, so online routing and downloading is no longer possible. Good Sam says they are working on a new solution. Won't hold my breath.
__________________
'05 F250 6.0 Bullet Proofed
'02 Montana 3280RL Upgraded a bunch.
Hblick48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 07:29 AM   #9
Elevguy
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Whitmore Lake
Posts: 15
M.O.C. #21345
I use allstays to find campgrounds and lp and such. I also use garmin 770rv gps with my parameters set. I’m very happy with the results
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 srw Aisin
2018 3120 Montana
Elevguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 08:18 AM   #10
DanandBrenda
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Arlington
Posts: 82
M.O.C. #21176
I use garmin 760 dezl never had a problem have to put in height and weight uses truck route sometimes takes the long way around.
__________________
2011 Volvo 780 485 HP/1750 TQ 13 Speed 32000 lb ET air ride hitch
2016 Montana 3820FK Legacy package
DanandBrenda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2019, 02:24 PM   #11
StageCoachDriver
Montana Fan
 
StageCoachDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Reno
Posts: 138
M.O.C. #22620
There are several RV oriented GPS units. Do some research and get one of them. Also, look at RVTripWizard as a backup.
StageCoachDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 01:26 PM   #12
cliff
Established Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mesa
Posts: 31
M.O.C. #12209
We have had a Rand McNally RV GPS for about three years. It has routed us through San Francisco, down CA 1 between Monterrey and Hearst Castle, down CA 111 to Temecula and under an 8'8" bridge in PA. It also routed us through a loop through a subdivision.
fortunately we ignored that one. Now we use a Garmin along side that was made for a car for comparison and it gives better routing if you choose to prefer highways. Before I throw the Rand out my widow at high speed, we are looking at a Garmin RV GPS.
cliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 04:45 PM   #13
wed
Established Member
 
wed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: woodstock
Posts: 40
M.O.C. #8174
With your Rand product you need to run a update 2 times a year for 5he most up to date . They send them out with old software.
wed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2019, 05:42 PM   #14
Mikendebbie
Montana Master
 
Mikendebbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Austin
Posts: 508
M.O.C. #21044
GPS

I bought a Garmin 660RV - cheaper that the 770RV and has built in traffic. I believe the 770 has to use your phone thru Bluetooth for traffic info. I want my phone bluetoothed to the truck. I also bought some bridge height points of interest from a company called LowClearances.com but the installation instructions sucked and I have not been able to load them into the garmin...basically wasted that $40.

The garmin did warn us and reroute us in Memphis last summer.
__________________
Mikendebbie Austin TX - Aggie '77
2019 Chevy 3500 High Country DRW
2018 Montana 3921FB
+ two cute Aussies Gus+Fern
Mikendebbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 04:11 AM   #15
grumpylane
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Saint Clairsville
Posts: 53
M.O.C. #20516
SmartRVRoute for me plus truck nav and GF's google maps and atlas at times. tried the small roads low bridges and little towns. they don't like it when i take up all the lanes to turn. Be safe and take your time and do some research. Oh and i forgot to mention WAZ so you know where the traffic issues are.
__________________

2017 F350SD/4x4/DRW
Montana 356TBF
Cory
grumpylane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 12:14 PM   #16
cliff
Established Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mesa
Posts: 31
M.O.C. #12209
We update both the Rand and the Garmin 4 to 6 times per year. The Rand has always been poor to route and the mas are 2 years old here in Arizona. After aroad gets completed, or an intersection changes, it takes two years, while the Garmin is hardly ever behind by more than a couple of months.
cliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2019, 05:21 PM   #17
Caniel
Montana Fan
 
Caniel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Arlington
Posts: 130
M.O.C. #21610
On our RM 7720 RV GPS There are several routing options such as route more like a truck, avoid small roads, avoid dirt roads, and such. They are somewhat hidden in various option screens.
__________________
Cande & Daniel (Caniel)
2010 Mountaineer 295RKD | 2019 Chevrolet 3500 Duramax 4x4 CC LWB DRW

Caniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 12:29 PM   #18
allmi958
New Member
 
allmi958's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Aurora
Posts: 1
M.O.C. #24013
SmartRoute RV on a 8" Andriod tablet for me. I've used this for 4 years now and with the RV stats plugged into the app, I has not let me down.

The only thing I did that might be considered unusual is set the height of the Monty to 13'7" so it would not route me under 13'6" bridges. Did that once and white knuckled it through without issues.

I also confirm routings with a Rand McNally Truckers Atlas checking for weight, length and height restrictions.

As always be vigilant when driving in unfamiliar territory.

Mike (used to be allmi01)
allmi958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×