Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 03-16-2011, 04:01 AM   #1
Capecodcowgirl

M.O.C. #11245
Question about a pickup truck

Good morning and greetings from Cape Cod.

First, let me tell you that I am new to this. Four years from now I want to be on the road with my pickup and trailer -- so much homework to do! Since I love Montana and spend all my vacation time out there, I plan on spending more time in Big Sky Country once I retire (four years from now). Anyway, would a FORD 250 be an appropriate pickup for towing a trailer -- or would a 150 do the job? I'm thinking I'll end up with a five wheeler. Many thanks and all good wishes. Kristine

Capecodcowgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 04:22 AM   #2
Fire5er
Montana Master

M.O.C. #3403
Please do your home work before you purchase, and crunch the numbers for yourself. IMHO: The Montana line runs heavy and most 3/4 tons will not provide the proper safe towing ratings. You will find that only a one ton will provide the cargo capacity for the pin weights you will find with the 5er fully loaded for travel, and the overall GCVW. The minimum numbers you will want to look at for the TV are CVWR and GCVW. We just went from a one ton SRW to a DRW just to provide an extra level of safety while towing and so the TV doesn't have to work so hard pulling the mountain passes.
A good resource is the Twoing Guide at Trailerlife.com, it goes from 2003 to 2001 TVs.
Fire5er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 04:32 AM   #3
RickW
Montana Master

M.O.C. #9139
Figure out what trailer you want first. This will give you the weights of the trailer. From there you can then figure out which truck you will need to pull your trailer.