Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 11-03-2005, 10:58 PM   #1
Montana_4911
Established Member

M.O.C. #4911
Finding Good Stops along the way

Hello Gang,

I am new to the 5th wheel driving.

When driving long distances each day, like 500-600 miles, where would be good fuel locations / and restuarant's along the way that on a regular basis have room to manauver and park.

I have heard stories of unkind 18 wheelers that have purposly damaged a travel trailer just because you park near them in a reat area.

Thanks much,

Russell - Orlando, FL

Montana_4911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2005, 12:04 AM   #2
Glenn and Lorraine
Montana Master

M.O.C. #420
Hi and Welcome to the MOC Family. Always glad to see another Floridian join the family.

Today's modern truck stops, now called "Travel Plazas, Travel Stops, Travel Centers, etc. have set up parking, fueling and even dump sites and propane areas specifically for RVers. These areas are out of the way of the 18 wheelers. For the diesel owners, these "truck stops" have fresher diesel fuel than that little Hess station next door and most "truck stops" have some very good restaurants.
Lorraine and I will rarely pass a Flying J. We get an extra penny discount on a gallon of fuel and they have a great buffet. Another great RV Friendly restaurant is The Cracker Barrel. They have an area set-up for RV/Bus parking that is easy in and out.

Quote:
quote:I have heard stories of unkind 18 wheelers