Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC on M.A.R.S. > Additions & Improvements
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2007, 07:15 PM   #1
RCMP03
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fontana
Posts: 172
M.O.C. #7063
King Dome

Hello,

Well, after battling with the portable dish for what seems like an eternity and finally getting locked in, only for it to get knocked out of adjustment or blow over in the wind one too many times, we decided to get a King Dome installed.

Camping World has a special so we opted for the DVB type. Just pressing a button to lock in on the satellite seems like a dream come true. Did we make a good choice? Or is it a dream too good to be true?

The final cost of the system after wiring both TV's is a little over $1400. Is that a good price? How does it handle when parked in a treed area? Will movement inside the coach affect it?

Cheers!
Sue

RCMP03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2007, 08:50 PM   #2
Imp
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Georgetown
Posts: 1,411
M.O.C. #956
We have had a kingdome for 2 years and we have had a few times where trees blocked our reception. When you are travelling across the country it takes a few times before it will lock onto the satellite. We have found by locking on every night that it takes less time when we get to our destination. But once it is locked on you are all set until you move the rig again. Movement inside the coach does not affect it.
Imp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 02:17 AM   #3
Ozz
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: K.C.
Posts: 11,731
M.O.C. #5980
Sue,
You made a wise decision, and will be happy with it, we love ours. I have only found one camp that we couldn't get a signal, the portables couldn't get one either there.
Ozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 03:58 AM   #4
ken
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: King George
Posts: 688
M.O.C. #345
We also have the King dome. Its been on for two years now and no problems. Camping World installed ours too. Sometimes you have to move the antenna (by pressing ther button) to another satellite as it locks onto both Direct TVs 101 and 110 degree satellites and Dishs satellites. It will tell you when it locks on to the correct satellite when the transponder gets a good reading. At that point, turn off the satellite dish so it doesn't move while your setting at the campgrounds.
ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 06:42 AM   #5
William H. Collier
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Machesney Park
Posts: 534
M.O.C. #798
Since everything is changing to HD does this one have the capability to recieve those satelites?
Bill
William H. Collier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 08:27 AM   #6
VanMan
Montana Master
 
VanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Weatherford
Posts: 1,383
M.O.C. #9
I'm interested, too. Does it come with it's own receiver? or do you use one from the house? If it has it's own receiver, then is there a "new" monthly fee for the service? Is the spray stuff necessary/helpful to prevent the rain interference?
VanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 08:54 AM   #7
Imp
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Georgetown
Posts: 1,411
M.O.C. #956
It does not come with it's own receiver. You use the receiver from Dishnetwork or Direct or whatever you subscribe too. I don't have the answer for HD but I would think it would be whatever receiver you are using. There is no interference from rain. We are currently in the NW and getting lots of rain... no problem. There is no monthly fee from Kingdome.
Imp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 12:18 PM   #8
dsprik
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellaire
Posts: 5,932
M.O.C. #4282
I have the DishNet HD with the tripod. We are in Mackinaw City right now with winds gusting over 30 mph. Just lost my signal and I will have to re-adjust. HD is particularly touchy. If Kingdome handles DishNet's HD dish, then I would be interested...
dsprik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:17 PM   #9
skypilot
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 1,103
M.O.C. #1846
According to their latests ads they handle HD.
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 03:20 PM   #10
snfexpress
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: South
Posts: 2,499
M.O.C. #5140
MotoSat is planning to introduce the MD1000 (we have the MD500). The MD1000 uses 3 LNB's for HD. The Nomad 2 controller has already been tested with the MD1000.

These satellite dishes have the ability to skew so that once locked in, there is no changing from one satellite to another; both (or all 3 in the case of the MD1000) satellites' transmission is being received by the dish.

I am, however, disappointed in the apparent lack of positiv direction from All American Direct in providing HD Distant Networks programming, even 'though the feeds they are using are obviously HD - in the evening, the picture aspect ratio changes at about 6pm EST.

The cost for the MD500 and the Nomad 2 controller was about $1,700. Installation was extra.

When making reservations, I add "I have a roof top mounted satellite dish" to my other requirements.
snfexpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 03:46 PM   #11
RCMP03
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fontana
Posts: 172
M.O.C. #7063
Hello Everyone,

Thanks for your replies....it seems we made a good choice. As for the questions about what it comes with, we were told that the package included the receiver which is Directv and it is HD. We will have to contact Directv and add the programing channel package which I think is $4.99 per month. We have one receiver box already that we pay $4.99, but we needed another receiver for the 2nd TV. The receiver that comes with the King Dome package is exactly like the one we have in the house.

My husband will be happy not having to fuss with that darned portable anymore. Although, it does seem to lock into a signal after he has had a few beers.

Hope you all enjoy your Summer!
Sue

RCMP03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 04:31 PM   #12
Steve and Brenda
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chatan-Cho
Posts: 530
M.O.C. #6364
As a povertous Montana owner I'll settle for my dish 500 reflector and bungie tripod
Steve and Brenda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 04:41 PM   #13
Longwell
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Grove City
Posts: 1,357
M.O.C. #5192
Povertous? I like it. It wasn't a word, but it is now! The language keeps growing - - lol.
I love to make up words, so I appreciated that one.
Larry
Longwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 06:04 PM   #14
Ozz
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: K.C.
Posts: 11,731
M.O.C. #5980
A parsimonious act indeed, to abstain from the King Dome purchase.....
Ozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 01:50 AM   #15
Steve and Brenda
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chatan-Cho
Posts: 530
M.O.C. #6364
Yeah, thats us. Champagne dreams on a beer budget. I think we're doing well though being only 44 years old and enjoying our weekends in a wonderful RV!!!
Steve and Brenda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 02:27 AM   #16
Ozz
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: K.C.
Posts: 11,731
M.O.C. #5980
Steve and Brenda, (just playing with words) if I had any money, I would be a full timer, we half and half the RV life, Summers in K.C. and Winters in Texas. Just can't quite squeeze the budget enough to travel all the year. You are doing great, have you guys been to New Brunsfield for the great tubing? I would like to try that. We were there in the Winter one year.
Ozz
Ozz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 05:50 AM   #17
bsmeaton
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lone Tree
Posts: 5,615
M.O.C. #6109
Ozz -

Winegard did just come out with an upgrade for your Movin View to automatically get the third satellite (129). Works like Dish 1000. Only problem is you have to replace the power wiring with the new power+control wiring and add a control box.

http://www.winegard.com/mobile/pdf/p..._Interface.pdf

I don't know if King Dome offers the same.

bsmeaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 08:05 AM   #18
dsprik
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellaire
Posts: 5,932
M.O.C. #4282
Thanks for the link, Brad! I will check with CW for a price. I love HGTV HD and Discovery HD on my new Sharp 32" 1080p LCD. If I could get a Wineguard dome to handle the 129 sat, that would be great!
dsprik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 08:06 AM   #19
William H. Collier
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Machesney Park
Posts: 534
M.O.C. #798
I was on a Direct TV forum last night and found out that my 3 lnb dish will become obsolete in Sept. for HD channels. Direct is launching 2 new satelites to be on line sometime in Sept and they will handle all HD channels, even the ones I get now will be moved to the new satelites. So it appears from what I have read I will need a 5 lnb dish to pick up 5 different satelites to get all the programing including HD channels.
Bill
William H. Collier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
King Dome High-Def Antenna boje Additions & Improvements 0 01-15-2012 04:41 AM
King Dome satellite itaves General Discussions about our Montanas 5 06-16-2009 02:57 PM
Rain Fade/King Dome RCMP03 Let Us Entertain You 2 05-27-2008 02:45 AM
king dome or winnguard? fla hobo Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 6 01-06-2008 05:41 AM
King Dome and Dish Network Waynem Let Us Entertain You 0 01-06-2008 05:40 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×