Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 11-22-2009, 02:54 PM   #1
Jdrobone
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #9833
Jack Location

Howdy Folks,

Newbie here. I have worked on my own "stuff" for years now and I plan on doing my own brakes and repacking the bearings. I see a lot of warnings about where NOT to put a jack but nothing definitive on where you should place the jack. - I'm thinking a 4x4 block with a bottle jack on the frame, one forward of the 1st tandem wheel and one aft of the second tandem wheel. Does this sound right?

Jerry

Jdrobone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 02:59 PM   #2
H. John Kohl
Montana Master

M.O.C. #311
Send a message via AIM to H. John Kohl Send a message via MSN to H. John Kohl Send a message via Yahoo to H. John Kohl
I use one six ton bottle jack forward of first tandem. I do have to jack twice to get the wheels off the ground so I use two (three ton jack stands) one fore and one aft of the tandems. I make sure the bottle jack screw post is centered on the I beam.

Also when jacking a side I have the trailer hooked to the truck. I would not put lateral force on the front landing legs.

Welcome to the forum.
H. John Kohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 04:40 PM   #3
8.1al
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1658
John,
I'm always open to new ideas. Does placing the jack forward of the axles rather than behind work better?

Charlie
8.1al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 05:10 PM   #4
Art-n-Marge
Montana Master

M.O.C. #9257
Send a message via MSN to Art-n-Marge Send a message via Yahoo to Art-n-Marge