Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Solar, Charging Systems, Batteries and Electrical
Click Here to Login

Old 09-09-2013, 05:17 PM   #1
2BsRetired
Established Member

M.O.C. #11106
Send a message via Yahoo to 2BsRetired
ac Electrical outlets

I am a retired electrician I was the head electrician for a Hospital in Canada. We have a 2010 Mountaineer and after 3 years almost had a fire in our GFCI outlet at our bathroom sink. When these outlets are put in the factory workers use battery drills to tighten the screws and in our case they were over tightened and stripped. The result was they became loose and over the three years of travelling the white wire burnt off. We have since talked to four other people that have had the same problem. Please check these outlets in your rigs and also put a fire extinguisher at your bed side. If there is a fire in your rig you only have two minutes to put it out or get out. I have also changed all our outlets to standard home outlets as the ones that are in all rigs I believe are inferior. The connections are just a push on not a wire around a screw. The ones that are put in the rigs during manufacturing are up to code however I do not like the type of connection. I have never liked this type of connection even on regular house hold outlets. When I opened the outlet behind our easy chair a wire popped off. AGAIN PLEASE CHECK YOUR GFCI AT MIMIMUM

Bob

2BsRetired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 02:14 AM   #2
kdeiss
Montana Master

M.O.C. #164
I agree a Neighbor here in the Campground with a Montana had no power in one area of the Kitchen, After checking the breakers I started to open up receptacle and I found a pop wire as you described could have easily caused a fire
kdeiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 02:19 AM   #3
Ozz