Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > The Campsite
Click Here to Login

Old 02-27-2007, 01:27 AM   #1
beancounter
Seasoned Camper

M.O.C. #6893
Pinbox Tripod Jack???

As I work on my list of "must haves" to go with our forthcoming 342PHT, I see many of you using those tripod jacks under the pin box either for support or stabilization. Do I need one of these?

Being a complete novice to fifth-wheels, please elaborate on the purpose and usefulness of these.

Thanks.

beancounter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 01:36 AM   #2
gkbutler
Montana Master

M.O.C. #4049
Send a message via MSN to gkbutler Send a message via Yahoo to gkbutler
To be honest, we wouldn't be without it. However, we are stationary for six months at a time. The tripod along with the wheel chocks give additional stability to the inside of our Monty.
gkbutler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 01:43 AM   #3
Glenn and Lorraine
Montana Master

M.O.C. #420
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by beancounter

As I work on my list of "must haves" to go with our forthcoming 342PHT, I see many of you using those tripod jacks under the pin box either for support or stabilization. Do I need one of these?

Being a complete novice to fifth-wheels, please elaborate on the purpose and usefulness of these.
Thanks.
I now use the BI-pod which I feel gave me the same results and was cheaper and lighter to haul around.

The following link is to my method of stabilization using the Tripod. The Bipod has now taken the Tripods place with the same results.
http://www.geocities.com/montanaowners/stabilizing.html
Glenn and Lorraine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 01:53 AM   #4
nailbender
Montana Master

M.O.C. #5811