Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Solar, Charging Systems, Batteries and Electrical
Click Here to Login

Old 02-04-2012, 07:42 AM   #1
jef

M.O.C. #10550
converter trouble

Last night noticed that the lights on the fridge were out and the 12 volt lights were dim.I turned off the 12 volt lights then the fridge lights came back on.Checked the breaker box, the breaker for the converter was down and would not reset. Today we unplugged the converter and checked the fuses.Fuses were good.Turned the main power back on , reset the breaker,tried to plug the converter in,
lots of sparks, blew the converter breaker again. I have no experience with this stuff at all, any help would be appreciated.
Thank you, Jef
the converter is a iota dls 75 , on a 08 3000RK

jef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 09:21 AM   #2
camper4
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6635
Sounds like you need a new converter.
camper4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2012, 07:07 PM   #3
Art-n-Marge
Montana Master

M.O.C. #9257
Send a message via MSN to Art-n-Marge Send a message via Yahoo to Art-n-Marge
Is this a new problem, that is, you've been using the rig for a while, then this occurred?

If so, it does sound like the converter failed, I'm guessing the sparks were in the converter. While not unusual hopefully this was not caused by something worse. It would be a real bummer to find that plugging in a new unit and then it fails again would be a real bummer.

Get at least the same rating. Hopefully someone can comment if this 75amp unit is enough. When you replace it, make sure there is NO power present - no shore power connection, no generator, no solar panels and disconnect the battery, too.

Please keep us posted on what you find out and what works for you.