Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Brrr it's cold outside! Winter Camping
Click Here to Login

Old 12-21-2017, 11:47 AM   #1
Rainsmik
Established Member

M.O.C. #20862
Question New to cold weather

My Montana has the 4 Seasons option with heated ranks. We live in S tX where freezing temperatures are rare so I have no cold weather experience. We will be in our RV Christmas and New Year’s when temperatures are predicted to be below 30 deg. Anything special I should do to protect the trailer?

Rainsmik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 12:30 PM   #2
AZ Traveler
Site Team

M.O.C. #20477
Welcome to the forum. Recommend you run your furnace during the evening vice your heat pump. The furnace keeps the storage area, tanks and pipes warmer than the heat pump which just warms the living spaces. If you have heated tanks you can flip them on also. You may want to get a heated hose if you are in an RV park or put water in your internal tank and run your water pump. Recommend keeping your black and grey tank valves closed until you are ready to dump and it is a little warmer. If you are only expecting it to drop below freezing for a few hours at night and not getting below the high 20s then you can pretty much get away with doing nothing special. If you have round the clock freezing temps then you may need some of the other steps.

"Life is too short to stay indoors, enjoy the ride!"
AZ Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 03:04 PM   #3
Razrbk
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #17829
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZ Traveler View Post