Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 01-20-2011, 11:15 AM   #1
oldelmer1
Montana Master

M.O.C. #10758
Class B Non Commercial License

Well, after driving our rig(2006 F350 & Wildcat 29RLBS) for 4 years and and now the Dodge 3500 & Montana 3150RL, I just learned that I need a Class B Non Commercial Drivers License. Maryland requires this license if your GVWR of your truck and camper is more than 260001# or your trailer is 10K# or more. My wildcat was 11 thousand something pounds and currently my Montana is almost 14K along with my Dodge being 12200# GVWR.

I went to my DMV and talked to them, and yes, I need it, I said I've been pulling my camper for almost 5 years, she said, WELL, YOU SHOULD HAVE IT.

But we are going to leave in a few weeks for Georgia, and I know I wont be ready to take a driving test by then, so I guess I'll remain illegal till we get back.

Oh, and since this license is a higher class than my regular class C, I have to have someone with the B or higher accompany me when I'm practicing and when I go to DMV for my drivers test. She said I also have to backup 100 feet, backup to the right??, and parallel park the camper. I said I don't know anyone with a higher class license, she said WELL I GUESS YOU HAVE A PROBLEM THEN.

So, you all might want to look at your DMV site and verify if you need one of these or not.

oldelmer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 11:37 AM   #2
Jimmy Womack
Established Member

M.O.C. #10963
Makes me glad I kept my Class B CDL. Unfortunately I'm in Texas or I'd be glad to help.
Jimmy Womack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 12:00 PM   #3
Emmel
Montana Master

M.O.C. #808