Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC on M.A.R.S. > Repairs & Service
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2017, 12:45 PM   #1
artfuldodger
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chatsworth
Posts: 212
M.O.C. #10933
Correct track fix

Got home with our /2017 Legacy from the national rally and next day went to grease the wet bolts. The rear left side bolt and correct track yellow plates were missing. The spring was not attached to the rear spring hanger. Contacted Lippert tech and he sent the required parts by UPS with no hassle. Thank you Lippert. Installed this AM. Dealer is 2.5 he's away so by doing it myself I saved the time, diesel fuel, and dealer wait (usually weeks).
artfuldodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 01:15 PM   #2
BuilderBob
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Tacoma
Posts: 283
M.O.C. #20475
That's not the first time I'v heard of that problem it needs to be one of the things to check before for going on a trip!

Bob & Carol
Washington St
2017 352RL 2008 Dodge 3500 DRW crew cab 4x4 LB 6.7L
BuilderBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 06:06 AM   #3
Golfmedik
Montana Fan
 
Golfmedik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Auburn
Posts: 375
M.O.C. #18474
My buddy with an identical rig as mine lost his right rear one this fall in Montana. I will be ordering replacements. And yes, he had torqued his as I do twice a year.
__________________
2016 Montana 3790RD Legacy EditionOnan, TST TPMS, TrailAir pin
2013 F350 DRW 4x4 CC LBViair 10007, Ride-Rites, Westin HDx, 12k Smittybilt
Golfmedik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 10:11 AM   #4
Ram Montana High Country
Montana Fan
 
Ram Montana High Country's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: POINTBLANK
Posts: 249
M.O.C. #19944
I had a '56 Lincoln - there was a switch the driver could hit to grease the whole car except the drive shaft ... be a neat addition to 5er ...

Why are these wet bolts loosening? Question for those that have fastener experience, "Could Loctite be added to wet bolt nuts? Usually torque is backed off a little due to lube value of Loctite before setting,"

Thoughts please Loctite
__________________
RAM 305RL HC EAST TEXAS
Ram Montana High Country is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 06:37 PM   #5
beeje
Montana Fan
 
beeje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: westminster md
Posts: 274
M.O.C. #17894
I also found a missing bolt on one of my spring ends. I replaced the whole suspension because it was worn out. The brass bushings were worn through and the spring eyes were egg shaped.

To prevent a bolt from backing out again, I double nutted all of them. Short of a bolt breaking, they will not be missing again.
beeje is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 01:49 PM   #6
artfuldodger
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chatsworth
Posts: 212
M.O.C. #10933
beejee, Good point. I will double but mine as well with lockwashers between if space allows.
artfuldodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 06:19 PM   #7
denhammkc
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 5
M.O.C. #18294
Has not happened to me yet.I will add one more thing to my pre trip checklist.
What is the torque spec for the shackle bolts?
__________________
2011 RAM / airbags / Anderson Ult. hitch / 2017 Montana 3721RL
denhammkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 06:54 PM   #8
dieselguy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Haysville
Posts: 3,226
M.O.C. #3085
There are several different lock nuts available from most any hardware or home improvement store. Nylocs ... distorted thread ... interfering thread nuts just to name some. I prefer the nyloc nuts as they will not back off. No grease worries, no need to Loctite these, and no need to have some double nut concoction that looks like something you'd see on the Clampett Moblie. 30 - 50 ft lbs on the shackle bolts https://www.lci1.com/assets/content/...ifications.pdf
dieselguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 08:16 PM   #9
beeje
Montana Fan
 
beeje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: westminster md
Posts: 274
M.O.C. #17894
One issue with the nylock nut. There is only about a 1/4" of treads to put a nut on. Nylocks wont work, they will not tighten enough to get to the nylon part.
beeje is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 09:02 PM   #10
Idalogger52
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Plains
Posts: 64
M.O.C. #20651
How did you double nut the bolts with only a 1/4” of threads to work with? They do make thin nylok nuts but you usually have to to a fastener store to get them. I have that same set up on our 3155 ... will be looking at a fix come spring time.
Idalogger52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 09:30 PM   #11
Dam Worker
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Richland
Posts: 891
M.O.C. #17164
Blue Loctite should be more than sufficient. Do not use the red Loctite as it is the real deal and you probably won't ever get the nut off without heat or a die grinder etc. I also like nyloc and we use them for a lot of equipment where I work.

Tom Marty
__________________
Dam Worker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 10:21 PM   #12
dieselguy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Haysville
Posts: 3,226
M.O.C. #3085
I too am a bit confused on how you can double nut your shackle bolts, but not use a single locknut. If you only have 1/4" of threads to put a nut on ... there's something wrong with the shackle bolt length or the shackle has spread on you. Like I mentioned ... there are other styles of lock nuts that will work maybe better in short thread situations. No matter what you use ... the bolt should be one to two threads past the nut for adequate engagement.
dieselguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2017, 11:58 PM   #13
rohrmann
Montana Master
 
rohrmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 1,761
M.O.C. #12947
On the high voltage towers of the utility I retired from, there were countless numbers of bolts and nuts holding these things together. The method used to keep the nuts from coming loose, yet allowing them to be removed if needed was to use a center punch and upset the thread of the bolt next to the nut, enough to keep the nut from unscrewing on it's own, but not so bad that it couldn't be removed with a couple of wrenches. This process of 'dinging' the threads of the bolt might work for the suspension nuts on these rigs.
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402RL
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC 4WD
rohrmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 05:15 PM   #14
beeje
Montana Fan
 
beeje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: westminster md
Posts: 274
M.O.C. #17894
The mor ryde wet bolts have a shoulder that the nut bottoms out on leaving only a small amount of threads left to get a second nut on. Simply tighten one of the old nuts against the first nut. There is nothing wrong, its just how it is. The second nut locks to the first, preventing both from loosening.
beeje is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 08:38 PM   #15
Dam Worker
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Richland
Posts: 891
M.O.C. #17164
If there is not much extra threads you could use an old fashioned positive lock system. We shear some light to medium gauge sheet metal, put the correct size hole for the bolt that we are using. This is usually square and over sized, you then use a chisel and hammer to bend one or two corners over the nut and the other corner bent around the plate. These can probably still be bought at Fasteners or other retailers.

Tom Marty
__________________
Dam Worker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 10:22 PM   #16
dieselguy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Haysville
Posts: 3,226
M.O.C. #3085
I understand what you were trying to say now ... due to the step bolt used on your shackles, there is about 1/4" past the OEM nut, not 1/4" total for any nut. Mine are about what you describe. I was just offering an alternative nut to fix your dilemma ...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC00025.jpg (277.9 KB, 5 views)
dieselguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 10:57 AM   #17
Ram Montana High Country
Montana Fan
 
Ram Montana High Country's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: POINTBLANK
Posts: 249
M.O.C. #19944
Interesting to see where rust is forming - only area I noticed of thought was where the brake wires enter the axle
__________________
RAM 305RL HC EAST TEXAS
Ram Montana High Country is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.