Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help
Click Here to Login

Old 02-11-2009, 03:35 PM   #1
kilch123
Seasoned Camper

M.O.C. #9104
List of pitfalls for a new RV

I am new to the RV world, and have seen mention of several 'common' problems the members here have had. Does anybody have a list or suggestions on the items I should check closely on a 08 Mountaineer 324RLQ? Fortunately, I'm a mechanic, and have plumbing and electrical experience as well.

Thanks so much for any input

Tom

kilch123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 03:51 PM   #2
HamRad
Montana Master

M.O.C. #15
Tom,

You might want to check the "Home" page. Look for the PDI check lists. If nothing else that is a good starting point.

Dennis
HamRad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2009, 04:42 PM   #3
bsmeaton
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6109
Hi Tom,

Thanks for the new post - I didn't want to distract from the other one. I'll get the ball started:
  • With the rig unplugged, remove the cover from the breaker panel and tighten all the breaker screws, ground bar connections, and neutral (white) connections (you might be shocked how loose that stuff is)
  • Find the 12V grounding bar and do the same - ours was behind the breaker panel mounted to the wall
  • Don't know if you have the "convenience center" but we pulled the back cover off in the basement and just started thightening hose connections. It dripped like a sprinkler from the factory
  • Each tank has a roof vent and a relief vent valve that lets additional air in for dumping. Find the vent valves and tighten them. Our gray tank vent was missing and we found it rolling around behind an inspection plate under shower door