Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > Navigation
Click Here to Login

Old 12-09-2006, 10:57 AM   #1
Connorsmom
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #6592
Planning your route

Hi everyone,
I'm new, so please bear with me. I'm planning on taking a little vacation in January. I'll be leaving from Canton Michigan (outside Detroit), and headed to Texas, Florida and possibly New Mexico. I'll be traveling alone (except for the "kids"), so I won't be able to drive as many miles as a "team" would. Being an ex semi driver, I'm not concerned about that aspect of the trip. What I am concerned about is..how do you know where to stop? Do I look for campgrounds ahead of time, then try to make it there on a specific day? Or do I just spend my "down" time sleeping in the truck until I reach my destination? Oye, so many questions, so little time. Any help and/or suggestions sure would be appreciated!!

Connorsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 11:36 AM   #2
jrgwdenner
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1105
First things first, Connorsmom....a big welcome to the forum. You've got my admiration for your career and your tenacity to travel alone. We like to use Microsoft Streets and Trips as well as one of the big campground books (Trailer Life, Woodalls, etc) to plan our trips. It makes us feel more secure about our traveling if we have a destination in mind. Safe travels!

Check out http://www.campgroundreviews.com/ for a review of campgrounds submitted by people who have actually stayed in the park.
jrgwdenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2006, 11:56 AM   #3
DONnANNIE
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6088
Send a message via AIM to DONnANNIE Send a message via Yahoo to DONnANNIE
I, too, like the MS Streets & Trips if you like doing it yourself.