Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > The Campsite
Click Here to Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2019, 01:43 PM   #1
Rsc373
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Mechanicsburg
Posts: 7
M.O.C. #18890
New Campsite upgrade to 50amp

Okay I’m kinda handy but this has me a leery. DW and I are moving to a new campsite we were originally told it had 50amp service but then later we were told no it only has 30amp. Also they said we could out 50amp service in, and most folks do it themselves!����

So I went to the new site this morning and there is a 30amp and the normal 120v plugs in the box, (its not even a GFCI). I haven’t taken the cover off to see what’s going on inside of it. The question is how big of a deal is this gonna be to do on my own or should i just bite the bullet and pay an electrician to do it?

And now thinking about it, since the 120 isn’t GFCI should one just buy one of those 30amp and 15amp adapters and call it done?
__________________
Ralph, Jenny & Will.
And Buddy, mini Labradoddle
2016 3911FB
Rsc373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 02:19 PM   #2
jcurtis934
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pensacola (mail forward service)
Posts: 2,575
M.O.C. #13740
My initial reaction is to say find another campground. Putting your own 100 amp service in is not a wise thing to do. Makes you totally responsible for any damages. There would have to be two legs of 120vac at 50 amps each leg already in the pedistal, a new front plate with 50 amp recepticle, 30 amp recepticle, and 120 gfci recepticle would have to be installed in place of what's there. And why should you pay for or do this work, which is illegal for you to do? An easy way to set yourself up for future legal troubles IF you weren't killed in the attempt to do it.
__________________
2012 F350 6.7 L dually, 2013 3800RE with 6 pt leveling, Sumitomo 17.5" load range h tires, Samsung 18 cu ft residential fridge, 8k Morryde I.S. with disc brakes. Full timing since 2012.
jcurtis934 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 02:53 PM   #3
jeffba
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bastrop
Posts: 1,618
M.O.C. #20753
First, is this a site you bought?
If yes, then at least get an estimate from an electrician to upgrade it.

I am willing to bet the wire feeding it is too small. Plus you need 2 hots a neutral and a ground. Those may not even be there.

If you are going to be there in the summer, you will sorely miss not being able to run 2 ACs. So a 30-50 Amp dogbone is temporary at best.

And if your DW is anything like mine, she will be very adapt at tripping a 30 Amp breaker
__________________
2019 20th Anniversary Edition 3701LK
B&W 20K for Ford OEM Puck
2018 Ford F-350 Lariat CCLB PSD DRW
Poke super lignum unum et diem
jeffba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 03:24 PM   #4
Rsc373
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Mechanicsburg
Posts: 7
M.O.C. #18890
No we didnít buy the site, itís a seasonal site 6 of us have moved together.

And yes we are very worried about not being able to run both AC units. Our old campsite was 30amp and was full thick shade all day so we could get by with only one AC. This new spot, Iím gonna bet will be partial shade in the afternoon at best.
Rsc373 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 03:32 PM   #5
prndl
Montana Fan
 
prndl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: 1000 oaks
Posts: 441
M.O.C. #19630
First I would ask the "other folks" who have done it themselves.
Then hire someone like they probably did.
__________________
2011 2955RL Reese Sidewinder 5th Airborne
2014 RAM 2500 CD Demco Recon Hitch
4X4 Crew Cab/Short Bed
prndl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 03:32 PM   #6
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 4,864
M.O.C. #6433
I am not an electrician. But as a retired electrical engineer and as someone who has done some 120/240 residential type electrical installation I would not touch it. With only a 30 amp outlet currently there it is doubtful it had the necessary 4 wire 120/240 wiring to that box. And likely wire is not large enough to carry 50 amps.

And as mentioned, too many legal issues.

If you need 50 amps and they will not install it for you, find a new place to move.
__________________
Bill & Patricia

2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 03:50 PM   #7
1retired06
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake Gaston
Posts: 7,486
M.O.C. #12156
Quote:
Originally Posted by BB_TX View Post
I am not an electrician. But as a retired electrical engineer and as someone who has done some 120/240 residential type electrical installation I would not touch it. With only a 30 amp outlet currently there it is doubtful it had the necessary 4 wire 120/240 wiring to that box. And likely wire is not large enough to carry 50 amps.

And as mentioned, too many legal issues.

If you need 50 amps and they will not install it for you, find a new place to move.
Great advice!
__________________
Mike and Lorraine
2002 3655 FL, 2005 3650RK
2010 3665RE, 2015 3910FB
F350 crew cab dually 6.7
1retired06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 05:32 PM   #8
PNW Fireguy
Montana Master
 
PNW Fireguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arlington
Posts: 730
M.O.C. #18081
I am an electrician...donít do it!
PNW Fireguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 05:42 PM   #9
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 4,864
M.O.C. #6433
You don’t say where this is located weather wise. If the weather is not too hot, you can get by on 30 amps. Once trailer is cooled down, the 15k rear A/C on ours will keep the trailer cool if temps are 95 degrees or lower, and maybe at least some shade. But then ours is only about a 35’ rig.

BUT. It can also be annoying, because you will have to manage power carefully. If runnng A/C you will probably have to run water heater on propane. A/C plus water heater plus microwave or other high current device such as clothes dryer will likely trip a 30 amp breaker. No real problem as you just reset the breaker and try not to do the same again. But still annoying.
__________________
Bill & Patricia

2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2019, 09:07 PM   #10
rohrmann
Montana Master
 
rohrmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 2,446
M.O.C. #12947
What RV park is this? so we can avoid it!!
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402RL
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC 4WD
rohrmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 06:33 AM   #11
mazboy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grand Rapids
Posts: 1,198
M.O.C. #9561
PNW said it all.
mazboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 07:51 PM   #12
CaptnJohn
Montana Master
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 1,136
M.O.C. #19865
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohrmann View Post
What RV park is this? so we can avoid it!!
Agree 110%
__________________
John & Patty
2017 Montana HC 370BR
2016 Lariat F350 4X4
CaptnJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 12:57 AM   #13
Texan
Montana Master
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: new caney
Posts: 695
M.O.C. #19873
And the rv park is where?
Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 05:00 AM   #14
WeBeFulltime
Montana Master
 
WeBeFulltime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hixson
Posts: 2,887
M.O.C. #11397
Simply the fact that there is no GFCI indicates to me that everything is ancient. I would require THEM to update it or I would move on.
__________________
2018.5 Montana 3791RD
2012 F350 SRW 6.7 PSD

Full Timing since September 1, 2010
WeBeFulltime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 07:11 AM   #15
DmaxDually
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Port Richey
Posts: 277
M.O.C. #14092
You can't just turn 30 amp service to 50 amp service by moving some wires and changing the receptacle. If the park only has 30 amp service that's what it was wired for when it was built. They not going to wire a park with 50 amp service and only install 30 amp receptacles at the power poles. At the very least before you move have a licensed electrician come out to the park and inspect the the wiring in power pole for condition of the wiring, what gauge it is and the type of service that s feeding the park. The park might not even be up to code. That's why they probably are telling you to do it. They don't want to open a can of worms by having an electrician come out and finding faulting unsafe wiring at the park.
I do not stay at any park that doesn't have 50 service. I heard some newer parks being built now are installing 100 amp service to handle the larger rigs that now have 3 A/C's
Hopefully you have a surge protector but you can damage all the appliances in you rig with low voltage. I would find another park...
__________________
2012 Silverado 3500HD|4x4|Crew Cab|long bed|Dually
2012 Montana 3750FL
DmaxDually is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 07:41 AM   #16
CaptnJohn
Montana Master
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Eastern NC
Posts: 1,136
M.O.C. #19865
If others have done their own upgrade I don't want to be there. Sounds like low voltage and fire are real potential problems.
__________________
John & Patty
2017 Montana HC 370BR
2016 Lariat F350 4X4
CaptnJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.