Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > On the Road Again
Click Here to Login

Old 02-11-2007, 09:22 AM   #1
Montana_6822

M.O.C. #6822
Alaska

Hi I'm new to this game. I own a 2980RL Montana 2005, 5th wheel.The wife and I plan to take it to Alaska and back this summer, starting by the end of May.My concern is it may be to big for the mountain roads or the available camp sites along the way. I have a 05 Ford 250 Diesel 4x4 which pulls it quite nicely.I would appriciate any advice pertaining to this adventure. Jerry

Montana_6822 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 09:26 AM   #2
BillyRay
Montana Master

M.O.C. #607
welcome! I'm personally not able to answer your question as we've never been, but I'm sure someone here can.
BillyRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 09:52 AM   #3
adelmoll
Montana Master

M.O.C. #2716
Hi Jerry. Welcome to the forum. You've come to the right place with your question.

We have a 3475rl and a One Ton Ford long bed and did not have any trouble anywhere to, from or in Alaska last year when we took that trip. We met a lot of Moc'ers up there that didn't have any problems either. It is one of the greatest trips we have ever been on and we can't wait to repeat it. Go and have a good time.

Helen
adelmoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2007, 02:44 PM   #4
virgil47
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #3846
Gerald,
Welcome to the forum. We also were in Alaska in 2006 and thought the trip was wonderful. We were towing with a 1997 F250 PSD and had no issues. Honestly, we didn't notice too much difference in campgrounds on the way to or in Alaska. Maybe they were a little "less" in every way, a tad less finished in the bathrooms, a tad narrower, a tad shorter but our 38 foot trailer and F250 was just fine. Two things.........