Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 08-21-2007, 03:25 PM   #1
Montana Larry
Established Member

M.O.C. #7319
Tow Vehicle Advice

Hi,

My name is Larry,this is my first post, my wife Susan and I are the proud new owners of Montana 3400RL. I work 150 miles from homes so I stay in the Montana 4-5 nights a week but want to start towing the coach in a year or two.

I've pretty much narrowed my truck search to a Duramax with an Allison but am soliciting opinions/suggestions on the size of my tow vehicle. Is a 2500HD big enough or should I go 3500 dually? The unit 11,800 empty and 16,000 fully loaded. I drove truck 23 years ago so I am not afraid of the size of the vehicle or my capabilities but as an old trucker I do believe overkill can be good thing. On the other hand I can surely get more day to day utility out of a "non-dually". What do you thik out there?

Also what hitch is the best way to go? I was thinking air ride but don't know the manufacturers or quality I should be looking for.

Thanks,

Larry

Montana Larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 03:31 PM   #2
bncinwv
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6846
Larry,
Welcome to the forum, you may want to read many of the posts under the Tow Vehicles and Towing part of the forum. There have been many discussions pro and con that you may want to use as your starting point.
Bingo

Bingo and Cathy - Our adventures begin in the hills of WV. We are blessed by our 2014 3850FL Big Sky (previous 2011 3750FL and 2007 3400RL) that we pull with a 2007 Chevy Silverado Classic DRW CC dually.
bncinwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2007, 03:50 PM   #3
Okie Guy
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6054
I would go with the bigger Truck. It is better to have too much rather than not enough.