Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Brrr it's cold outside! Winter Camping
Click Here to Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2019, 02:25 PM   #1
sjroark
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Springdale
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #23222
Furnace Question

I have a question, hoping someone can help. When we run our furnace, the warm air comes from the vents in the floor but cold air blows from the vents in the roof. Why is this? Is it supposed to? It just seems to make the furnace counter productive. Any advice?
sjroark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 03:58 PM   #2
prndl
Montana Fan
 
prndl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: 1000 oaks
Posts: 470
M.O.C. #19630
Your Montana model number and year would help get a response.
__________________
2011 2955RL Reese Sidewinder 5th Airborne
2014 RAM 2500 CD Demco Recon Hitch
4X4 Crew Cab/Short Bed
prndl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 04:02 PM   #3
DQDick
Montana Master
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 16,020
M.O.C. #11455
Don't bother. This is really common. The AC fans will run when the furnace does unless the fan is set to auto. Just set your fan to auto and everything will be fine.
__________________
Dick and Joyce, Wilsey, KS & Lakewood, NM
2017 3720 RL, MorRyde pin box
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi Cab DRW 4X4, Pullrite Hitch
IS and Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Bathroom door mod, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 05:07 PM   #4
sjroark
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Springdale
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #23222
2017 high country model number hm305rl
sjroark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 05:12 PM   #5
sjroark
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Springdale
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #23222
Thank you so much. We switched fan to auto and they went off. You are da bomb.
sjroark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 08:17 PM   #6
AVMatt
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Franklin
Posts: 2
M.O.C. #21948
Furnace Air Return

Hey guys, I have a follow up question that is furnace related, so I thought Iíd ask it here. Iím new to the forum and greatly appreciate the insight and support you all provide. My wife has sent an intro post, but Iíll stick to the topic at hand here. My question is with regard to where air returns when running the furnace. We have a 2018 Montana High Country 385BR and the only place I could see would be the small space under the stairs. With that said, when I removed that vent under the stairs it seems like it is all completely sealed. If itís not needed then we would just cover it completely, but I wanted to make sure that it wouldnít impact the air exchange. Thanks for any insight! Matt
AVMatt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 10:27 PM   #7
rohrmann
Montana Master
 
rohrmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 2,489
M.O.C. #12947
Your inside air is circulated through the heater which constantly adds heat to the inside air instead of trying to heat much colder outside air, and all that air must return to the furnace via those slots in the stair risers. For each series furnace, there is a minimum area of opening to allow that air to flow unrestricted so the maximum efficiency or the furnace is realized. This is a page from an Atwood furnace manual, and I believe the newer furnaces are labelled as Dometic who bought out Atwood, but still essentially the same furnace, and the lower part of the page shows the minimum amount of area required for these furnaces. Ours is an 85 series furnace, which I think most of them are, and for that series furnace, 65 square inches of area of an opening is required. I would not close off the area below the stairs.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg furnace air requirements.jpg (259.3 KB, 9 views)
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402RL
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC 4WD
rohrmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2019, 08:07 AM   #8
AVMatt
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Franklin
Posts: 2
M.O.C. #21948
Thanks so much Bob! Thats great info and much appreciated. In looking under the stairs, there is wiring that comes in and penetrates the wall, but those penetrations are stuffed with wool. I honestly cant remember if I did that when trying to seal off for mice, but I don't want to block the air if thats important. What do you think? Thanks again!
AVMatt is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.