Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC Technical Forums > Additions & Improvements
Click Here to Login

Old 01-03-2010, 04:12 AM   #1
mtheo
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6171
hooking up a dish

Hope some one can help me. I got a portable satellite antenna.
When I hook it up to the reciever in the trailer it gets no signal from dish. I have aimed towards the correct azimuth and elevation but still nothing. I have tried moving it all around to no avail.
How close does the dish have to be to at least get nothing so I can then fine tune it.

I know the cables are right in the trailer,because I ran a cable to the home dish. I'm new to Satellite TV.
Any help would be appriciated.
Mark

mtheo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 04:37 AM   #2
hookman
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6237
There is a jumper where you put the satellite receiver which directs the signal from a cable hookup to the bedroom TV and then back to the main TV remove it and try a cable from there to the receiver in and you should get your signal. Ours was the top one. If you want a satellite feed in the bedroom you will have to run another cable to there. If you do a search there is a wiring diagram of the wire for the different tv hookups.
hookman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 05:24 AM   #3
ols1932
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1944
If you use a satellite finder (electronic satellite signal finder) you should be able to find the signal without any problem. If you've set the elevation close to what is called for, you should be able to sweep the antenna from west to east and hit the signal as displayed on the satellite finder. I've used this method for over nine years of full timing and have always found the satellite. Granted, I have DirecTV, but the procedure is approximately the same.

Orv
ols1932 is offline   Reply With Quote