Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC on M.A.R.S. > Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2019, 09:45 AM   #1
Bassman180
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Omaha
Posts: 2
M.O.C. #24946
Furnace problem

Furnace problems
Picked new Montana last week when through one bottle of propane, and now the furnace will not light. Blower motor comes on runs for about 30 seconds and shut off. Did not hear the igniter click or flame come on. Batteries tested at 13.6 volts even moved the full tank over to the other side of camper just in case ther was a problem with the value switching over. Note the gas stove works fine.
Bassman180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2019, 10:10 AM   #2
MARK A
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: STAYTON
Posts: 828
M.O.C. #18157
1st, turn off the propane, remove the gas line from the tank. Re install the gas line then turn the bottle on VERY slowly. If you hear a click while turning it on you went to fast. Then light all the burners on your stove and wait until the burners are all burning mostly blue.
Then turn the furnace back on. Ours is a royal pain to purge after new tank fill.


Mark
__________________

2016 3610/2012 F-350 Powerstroke
MARK A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2019, 10:39 AM   #3
Fish
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Marion
Posts: 85
M.O.C. #22281
On mine it was the sail switch.
__________________
2019 Montana High Country 384BR
2018 Ram cclb 4x4 6.7 cummins/aisin dually
Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 12:52 PM   #4
TennTom
Montana Fan
 
TennTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Holladay
Posts: 190
M.O.C. #22087
Check the blink code. Hit the rest. Sounds like a sail switch to me also.
__________________
2019 HC 381TH
2018 Ram 2500 - 6.4 HEMI
TennTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 02:28 AM   #5
Bassman180
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Omaha
Posts: 2
M.O.C. #24946
Furnace problem

Thanks for the input.
I was not getting your responses on my IPad , I had to switch back to my IPhone to get these. I have tested the sail switch and cleaned it with electrical cleaner. Working for now but the dealer said that Atwood is having problems with them and as order me a new one.

Thanks again.
Bassman180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 11:38 AM   #6
Kyle and Lisa
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: livingston,tx
Posts: 424
M.O.C. #21685
I reached out to Atwood tech service, they sent me a new one at no cost to me. Although I still have not had to use it after slightly bending the sail switch to catch more air to maintain contact.
Kyle and Lisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 05:29 PM   #7
Daryles
Montana Fan
 
Daryles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Alton
Posts: 331
M.O.C. #24086
Guys be aware of defective Attwood part # 33488 furnace control boards. Even brand new ones out of the box are failing at LOW (freezing) temperatures. If you heat them up with a hair dryer they begin to work again. See this thread.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/2740...7964195593987/
So if you have done everything else for troubleshooting and think it's a bad board, heat it up and try it again.
__________________
Daryl
Daryles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 05:37 PM   #8
WeBeFulltime
Montana Master
 
WeBeFulltime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hixson
Posts: 3,088
M.O.C. #11397
The "reset/off" switch on the furnace under the cover just failed on mine last week. You NEVER know where these furnaces will fail and most of the time it's a very simple thing. I hear about sail switches failing over and over but in 12 years and 3 different Montanas with identical furnaces I have never had one fail. 9 of those 12 years have been full-timing too.
__________________
2018.5 Montana 3791RD
2012 F350 SRW 6.7 PSD

Full Timing since September 1, 2010
WeBeFulltime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 01:35 AM   #9
shovelhead86
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 509
M.O.C. #10985
Furnace problems

In reply to your furnace not igniting. I had the same problem with my 2018 3791RD. I discovered it was the sail switch. I slightly bent it to catch more air and it works like a dream now.
shovelhead86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2019, 07:46 PM   #10
samroll
Established Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Simonton
Posts: 38
M.O.C. #22485
On mine if I run out on a tank I have to turn the thermostat to "off" then turn it back on after I open the full tank for my heater to light. Sometimes I have to bleed the lines by lighting the stove but usually not. But, I always have to turn the thermostat off and then back on.
__________________

2012 Montana 3582RL
2013 Ford F350SD King Ranch Dually
samroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2019, 05:19 PM   #11
roadagain
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: North Little Rock
Posts: 8
M.O.C. #23896
mine too sail switch
__________________
2019 Montana 3120RL
2013 Ford SD F250 Lariat, 4X4 Crew Cab, short bed, SRW, 6.7L, PullRite SuperGlide
roadagain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 08:50 PM   #12
jking
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Twin Falls, ID
Posts: 183
M.O.C. #20361
I just had my furnace go cold on Christmas Eve �� had to work, local rv tech come out on the 26th cleaned it all out and replaced fuse That had not blown until the day of the 26th ? The ignitor board led was a steady flash. Now is fine. Go figure.
__________________
Jim and Barb
Chica and Baby (the fury kids)
2014 3402rl
2017 Ram 3500 6.7 ctd. 4x4 srw
jking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 08:43 AM   #13
Twopetes
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Beloit
Posts: 238
M.O.C. #17535
I agree with all the comments above, but I will add one not noted that was the cause of our furnace issue. The main LP gas regulator was bad and not allowing enough gas to flow. Because of not enough gas flow, the flame would not light and every RV furnace has a flame sensor to shut off the gas if no flame is detected as a safety function. Ours would run for 30 seconds and shut down. And strangely enough, the stove and water heater would run even with the regulator issue.

Just another possibility. Good luck
__________________
Steve & Lisa
2015 Montana High Country 353 RL | 2011 F-250 FX-4 Crew Cab
Firestone air bags | Reese Goosebox
Ready to live the dream
Twopetes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2020, 09:27 AM   #14
maxdvr
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Shelby
Posts: 3
M.O.C. #24937
Check self reset fuse in fuse panel. Just went through this with mine. Did all the trouble shooting, replaced fuse with standard fuse.....problem solved
maxdvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 08:14 AM   #15
margerush
Montana Fan
 
margerush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Riverview
Posts: 143
M.O.C. #20713
circuit board went out on ours. Don't know if this is the correct P/N or not for Atwood 33488, you'll need to compare picture with the board: https://www.parts4heating.com/Atwood...535811-113.htm
__________________
2016 3160RL
2016 RAM 2500 4X4 Mega cab
margerush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 09:28 PM   #16
sterling2349
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poth
Posts: 5
M.O.C. #24424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twopetes View Post
I agree with all the comments above, but I will add one not noted that was the cause of our furnace issue. The main LP gas regulator was bad and not allowing enough gas to flow. Because of not enough gas flow, the flame would not light and every RV furnace has a flame sensor to shut off the gas if no flame is detected as a safety function. Ours would run for 30 seconds and shut down. And strangely enough, the stove and water heater would run even with the regulator issue.

Just another possibility. Good luck
Mine is doing the same thing only running about 30 seconds and then shutting off without firing. I noticed that my stove also will still work and the bottles arent completly empty but seems like it works with new bottles. Wondering if maybe its the regulator. Thanks in advance
sterling2349 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 10:02 PM   #17
craigb
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Riverside
Posts: 38
M.O.C. #14426
How do you get to the sail switch?
craigb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 10:04 PM   #18
craigb
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Riverside
Posts: 38
M.O.C. #14426
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadagain View Post
mine too sail switch
How do you get to the sail switch?
craigb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 11:37 PM   #19
TennTom
Montana Fan
 
TennTom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Holladay
Posts: 190
M.O.C. #22087
Two screws hold it in from the outside blower assy. Search YouTube, plenty of vids on the subject.
__________________
2019 HC 381TH
2018 Ram 2500 - 6.4 HEMI
TennTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2020, 10:19 AM   #20
Daryles
Montana Fan
 
Daryles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Alton
Posts: 331
M.O.C. #24086
Circled
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FB_IMG_1576899510065.jpg (57.6 KB, 7 views)
Daryles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×