Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 04-10-2011, 07:41 AM   #1
CaptainRandy
Established Member

M.O.C. #11312
Fifth Wheel Hitch vs Gooseneck

Howdy

Jackie & I will be taking delivery of a new 3750FL the first of May, will be stuck in one spot for 2 yrs with my job but free after that, will purchase tow vehicle sometime in next year - weighting all my options right now.

Have an 05 Winnie we love but are new to towing a fifth wheel. One of the locals suggested having a gooseneck adaptor put on the fifth wheel - (western Wyoming is full of ranchers & farmers with gooseneck equipment and there are a lot of potential used tow vehicles equiped this way )

I have no background on this subject ---what are pros & cons?????

I drove semi vans and tankers for seven years & know how tought kingpins are but have never delt with goosenecks.

CaptainRandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 08:02 AM   #2
Illini Trekker
Montana Master

M.O.C. #2733
It been stated on this forum that you may have a problem with your trailer frame warranty. I don't have first hand experience with that Randy but I'm sure others will be along with more input. You didn't say if this is a new trailer if not this wouldn't be a problem.
Illini Trekker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 08:19 AM   #3
camper4
Montana Master

M.O.C. #6635
I have used a goose neck and theyare nice. Keeps your TV bed real clean and easy to use. However, I'm told it will void the warranty on the Montana. The goose neck puts different stresses on the frame. So, to me it is not worth it. I found no difference while towing with handling, maneuvering, or backing up.
camper4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 08:19 AM   #4
stiles watson
Montana Master

M.O.C. #2059