Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > Internet & Cell Phones
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2017, 12:04 PM   #1
timandpeggy
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 43
M.O.C. #17685
Dish TV Change

So, about 2 years ago when we started to full time, I did a bunch of research regarding satellite TV service. We had had both Dish and Direct over the years, and didn't really see much difference, so neither had an advantage.

We decided to get a Winegard Pathway x2 as we could use 2 receivers, and it was an automatic finding Dish. We did some adapting with some OTA adapters (that Dish's tech's didn't know about) so we could get locals without having to change service addresses each time we moved. Everything worked well until 9 Aug.

When we went to bed on the 8th, we had all of our channels on both receivers (we have the 250 channel package). When we got up the next morning and found some of our favorite channels (TBS, Fox News, Spike TV to name a few) were non existent, on either the channel guide or by going directly to the channel.

I called the tech folks on the 10th (had things going on on the 9th) and requested help. The Tech was helpful, to an extant. He had me reset the main receiver numerous times after sending a signal to it, and I continually told him that everything was fine the 8th, and I was looking at satellite 72.7 for the 2 receivers. After about an hour, he sent me to the outdoors folks. They said as long as I had a signal, it wasn't their issue. I gave up, at least for the weekend, and reattached Monday, after finding about 30 channels were missing. After going thru the same fiasco, I finally decided to wait until we relocated.

We got to Sheridan, Wyoming yesterday and I went thru the normal setup, aligning on 72.7. Guess what, same thing. O.K., something else is up. I reset to a single receiver, and surprise, we have all of our channels.

This morning, I called to kill the second receiver, and when the rep asked why, I explained the issue. She looked thru our account and saw all of it. She contacted a long time Tech and was told that the night of the 8th, a channel lineup was accomplished, and 72.7 didn't have all the channels anymore. She said to fix it, I need a new satellite dish. Yeah, I don't think so. If the company makes changes, but doesn't notify anyone (techs, customers) of the changes, that ain't too spiffy. So, we're going to start researching out going to Direct.

Another fine example of customer service.
timandpeggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 01:43 PM   #2
RKassl
Montana Master
 
RKassl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fall Creek
Posts: 992
M.O.C. #3699
I am a long time Dish Subscriber and have traveled all over the country with our two Tailgaters, and I never have seen satellite 72.7? I use a combination of 110, 119 and 129, for my service. The Tailgaters move to the appropriate satellite based on what we select from the program guide. Why can't you use the other satellites that are available?
__________________
Bob and Nancy Kassl Fall Creek, Wisconsin
2015 Montana 3440RL Legacy Edition, G614's, Pressure Pro TPMS, Dish Tailgaters
2016 GMC Sierra Denali 3500 CC SRW, Iridium Metallic, Duramax Allison Transmission
RKassl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 02:05 PM   #3
DQDick
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Council Grove
Posts: 13,930
M.O.C. #11455
My question also. Been doing this with Dish for 7 years now and never even knew that channel existed.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 03:15 PM   #4
carl n susan
Site Team
 
carl n susan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carmichael
Posts: 2,732
M.O.C. #4831
I am a DirecTV user but have friends with Dish. Satellites 61.5, 72.7, and 77 are the "Eastern Arc" service. The "Western Arc" uses satellites 110, 119, and 129. The Pathway X2 can access either "arc" with the flip of a dip switch. I would have thought you would be using the Western Arc sats in WY. You might try using the Western Arc sats and see if the problem goes away.

Never the less, the X2 is getting all the channels on 72.7 if there is one receiver and doesn't if there is a second one. The change in channel lineups is a non-issue. This sounds much more like a X2 issue which is caused by the addition of a second receiver. Call Wingard and ask them about this problem.
__________________
Carl (n Susan) Youngren
There is more to life than fuel mileage.
2012 Montana 3700RL Big Sky Package towed by a 2015 Ford F350 6.7L PSD 4WD CC LWB

carl n susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 03:20 PM   #5
RonD
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Placerville
Posts: 336
M.O.C. #8962
72.7 is an eastern arch sat, the OP may be to far west for it to see it
RonD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 03:25 PM   #6
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 4,120
M.O.C. #6433
72.7 is one of the eastern arc sats. But I too am wondering why you are not using the western arc sats, especially being in that area of the US. The X2 should be able to pick either arc.
__________________
Bill & Patricia
& Molly (our 11 yr old Golden)
2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 03:30 PM   #7
RonD
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Placerville
Posts: 336
M.O.C. #8962
Quote:
Originally Posted by BB_TX View Post
72.7 is one of the eastern arc sats. But I too am wondering why you are not using the western arc sats, especially being in that area of the US. The X2 should be able to pick either arc.
The small dish portable units have a very small dish is the problem, plug it into a full size dish it most likely would work, same problem with rain and heavy overcast they don't have the size
RonD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 04:41 PM   #8
timandpeggy
Established Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 43
M.O.C. #17685
The problem is not being a eastern arc satellite as I have accessed 72.7 on the coast of Washington.

The problem is that Dish changed the channels on 72.7, nothing else. Using the Pathway x2, it looks at 72.7 so all channels are visible on both receivers.

My biggest problem is that the word was not sent to the folks that are the techs, nor to the customers.
timandpeggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 11:08 PM   #9
carl n susan
Site Team
 
carl n susan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carmichael
Posts: 2,732
M.O.C. #4831
Quote:
Originally Posted by timandpeggy View Post
The problem is not being a eastern arc satellite as I have accessed 72.7 on the coast of Washington.

The problem is that Dish changed the channels on 72.7, nothing else. Using the Pathway x2, it looks at 72.7 so all channels are visible on both receivers.

My biggest problem is that the word was not sent to the folks that are the techs, nor to the customers.
OK, I get it you are upset they didn't tell you they made a change. But that doesn't explain why you get all the channels when using one receiver, but lose a bunch when you plug in the second receiver. I am confused?
__________________
Carl (n Susan) Youngren
There is more to life than fuel mileage.
2012 Montana 3700RL Big Sky Package towed by a 2015 Ford F350 6.7L PSD 4WD CC LWB

carl n susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 07:16 AM   #10
WeBeFulltime
Montana Master
 
WeBeFulltime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hixson
Posts: 2,248
M.O.C. #11397
Quote:
Originally Posted by carl n susan View Post
OK, I get it you are upset they didn't tell you they made a change. But that doesn't explain why you get all the channels when using one receiver, but lose a bunch when you plug in the second receiver. I am confused?
I am also confused. I always use the EA sats and nothing has changed about mine but I only have 1 receiver (Hopper 3) and feed it with a standard 1000.2 dish with Hybrid LNB.
__________________
2018 Montana 3791RD
2012 F350 SRW 6.7 PSD

Full Timing since September 1, 2010
WeBeFulltime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 12:31 PM   #11
timandsusan
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,054
M.O.C. #5165
Interesting blog. I have 1 X2 and 2 ZIP211 receivers. We have always set up with 1 receiver on the setup screen. Download the program guide and later turn on the 2nd receiver. Works for me and we are in the West--Colorado and Utah most of the time. Keep posting.
timandsusan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2017, 06:16 AM   #12
Ishler
Montana Master
 
Ishler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 680
M.O.C. #1328
The channels you are talking about were moved to the 61.5 sat where the majority of the channels reside. They are making room for more channels on the Eastern arc. I thought the Pathway saw all the Eastern arc? This has been discussed on the Satellite forums.
__________________
Mike & Donna Ishler Ontario, NY KE2LU FN13
2010 3605RL XFactor TST G614's
2011 Dodge 3500 Laramie CTD 4x4 Auto 4.10s
Ishler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.