Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC on M.A.R.S. > Additions & Improvements
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2018, 08:30 PM   #1
MARK A
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: STAYTON
Posts: 650
M.O.C. #18157
New Circuit breaker, WHY did I wait so long?

I ordered an 80A circuit breaker for the hydraulic pump on the trailer. The kick-out while on battery power is gone. It was more of an annoyance than a problem but it is solved.



Mark
Attached Images
File Type: jpg breaker.jpg (95.2 KB, 84 views)
__________________

2016 3610/2012 F-350 Powerstroke
MARK A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 08:41 PM   #2
DQDick
Montana Master
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 15,459
M.O.C. #11455
Since most of the units are sold to part timers, I suppose saving the money by not putting an 80amp in to start with works for keystone since it's only those of us who camp in the cold who have problems but really, how much are they saving compred to the badmouthing they get from those of us who have to change them out?
__________________
Dick and Joyce, Wilsey, KS & Lakewood, NM
2017 3720 RL, MorRyde pin box
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi Cab DRW 4X4, Pullrite Hitch
IS and Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Bathroom door mod, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 08:53 PM   #3
MARK A
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: STAYTON
Posts: 650
M.O.C. #18157
You’re right, I wouldn’t have missed the 30 extra dollars and could have banked the aggravation for some of the other things. LOL

Mark
__________________

2016 3610/2012 F-350 Powerstroke
MARK A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 09:18 PM   #4
Montana Man
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Lemoore
Posts: 307
M.O.C. #21963
Besides, the higher amp breaker is recommended by the pump manufacturer. Keystone opted for a smaller, cheaper breaker.
__________________
2016 3160, Legacy, Manufacturing defects corrected by me, 2014 Ram 3500 SRW SWB 4X4 6.7 Aisin Mega Cab, EBC slotted disks and brakes.
Montana Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 04:36 AM   #5
jeffba
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bastrop
Posts: 1,162
M.O.C. #20753
Before our first trip I had installed an 80 amp breaker
__________________
2019 20th Anniversary Edition 3701LK
B&W 20K for Ford OEM Puck
2018 Ford F-350 Lariat CCLB PSD DRW
Poke super lignum unum et diem
jeffba is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2018, 09:02 AM   #6
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 4,707
M.O.C. #6433
First replaced my failing 50 amp with a new 50 amp. A year later it was failing also. Couldn't find an 80 locally and about to leave for on a trip so I bought two 40 amp and wired them in parallel as a temporary measure. Never another problem and that was years ago and the two 40s are still there.
__________________
Bill & Patricia

2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 07:44 AM   #7
ChasManDo
Established Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Weiser
Posts: 13
M.O.C. #22591
Where is this breaker located on the trailer?
ChasManDo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 08:48 AM   #8
CarWin
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Thornville
Posts: 349
M.O.C. #21110
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChasManDo View Post
Where is this breaker located on the trailer?
Its located in the front storage/battery compartment on the wall. At least thats where its located on our coach.
__________________
Darwin & Carla
2018.5 3701LK Montana
2016 2500HD Duramax
CarWin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 09:25 AM   #9
MARK A
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: STAYTON
Posts: 650
M.O.C. #18157
Mine are on the wall behind the batteries in the forward generator compartment.

Mark
__________________

2016 3610/2012 F-350 Powerstroke
MARK A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 09:27 AM   #10
ChasManDo
Established Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Weiser
Posts: 13
M.O.C. #22591
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarWin View Post
Its located in the front storage/battery compartment on the wall. At least thats where its located on our coach.
Thanks, I'm going to take a look at what I have. Haven't had any trouble yet but good to know where to find it. Where is everyone getting the 80 amp breakers from and does it need to be the exact same type?
ChasManDo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 11:51 AM   #11
erichperry
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Paducah
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #23060
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChasManDo View Post
Where is this breaker located on the trailer?
Near the battery.
erichperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 11:56 AM   #12
erichperry
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Paducah
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #23060
Already upgraded to a 150amp.

I recently read about Montana's recommendation to upgrade the 50amp to an 80amp so I looked for it near the battery. Found that our 2018 375FL came with a 150amp breaker already.
erichperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 12:08 PM   #13
carl n susan
Site Team
 
carl n susan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Carmichael - CA
Posts: 3,389
M.O.C. #4831
Quote:
Originally Posted by erichperry View Post
I recently read about Montana's recommendation to upgrade the 50amp to an 80amp so I looked for it near the battery. Found that our 2018 375FL came with a 150amp breaker already.
I bet you have a residential refrigerator. That 150 amp fuse is for the inverter that supplies power to the refer. The self resetting breaker for the hydraulic system is totally separate. It looks something like this (the red one on the right is what a stock one looks like. The left one is an upgraded replacement):

__________________
Carl (n Susan) Youngren
There is more to life than fuel mileage.
2012 Montana 3700RL Big Sky Package towed by a 2015 Ford F350 6.7L PSD 4WD CC LWB

carl n susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 05:32 PM   #14
mtlakejim
Montana Master
 
mtlakejim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bee Branch
Posts: 1,786
M.O.C. #20693
Where did you order the breaker from??
__________________
James & Irene Wilson
Bee Branch, AR.
2017 Ram 1 ton diesel duallyCrew Cab/Long Bed
2018 Montana High Country 381TH Garage Full of Toys
mtlakejim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 06:09 PM   #15
2 Yoopers
Established Member
 
2 Yoopers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Rudyard
Posts: 20
M.O.C. #21800
80 Amp breaker

I purchased a Bussman 80 amp dc breaker off of EBay. Got the best price there at the time. Could not believe how cheaply built the original one was. Bussman has been around along time and costs more, but is higher quality in my opinion.
__________________
2015 Montana 3711 FL Legacy

2015 Ford F450 Platinum
2 Yoopers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 06:51 PM   #16
CarWin
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Thornville
Posts: 349
M.O.C. #21110
X2 on what 2 Yoopers said....except I got mine off Amazon cheaper than EBay.
__________________
Darwin & Carla
2018.5 3701LK Montana
2016 2500HD Duramax
CarWin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 08:30 PM   #17
MARK A
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: STAYTON
Posts: 650
M.O.C. #18157
Amazon, it was less than $30.00 if I remember correctly.

Mark
__________________

2016 3610/2012 F-350 Powerstroke
MARK A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 12:22 AM   #18
Texan
Montana Master
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: new caney
Posts: 555
M.O.C. #19873
You might not want to change this out as it will take you at least 10 minutes to do it lol. E-bay usually doesn't have sales tax where as Amazon usually does. Both close in price. Just another simple mod that needs to be done before you lose your breaker. If it ain't broke don't fix it doesn't apply here.
Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 11:14 AM   #19
erichperry
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Paducah
Posts: 4
M.O.C. #23060
Quote:
Originally Posted by carl n susan View Post
I bet you have a residential refrigerator. That 150 amp fuse is for the inverter that supplies power to the refer. The self resetting breaker for the hydraulic system is totally separate. It looks something like this (the red one on the right is what a stock one looks like. The left one is an upgraded replacement):

Thanks. Mine looks like the picture from Mark A, 5 or 6 replies up the thread. ???
erichperry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2018, 01:38 PM   #20
MARK A
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: STAYTON
Posts: 650
M.O.C. #18157
Just follow the big wire from the hydraulic pump to the breaker. That’ll tell you which one is running the pump. My rig has 2 breakers, and the hydraulic pump is on one by itself.

Mark
__________________

2016 3610/2012 F-350 Powerstroke
MARK A is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.