Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > On the Road Again
Click Here to Login

Old 10-03-2023, 07:08 AM   #1
Ron & Izzy
Seasoned Camper

M.O.C. #29530
Heading to Washington DC, from Florence SC

Hi all..,

the DW and i are heading to the DC area for museum's, the Wall (i'm a vietnam vet) and other landmarks in about 2 weeks. we live in Florence SC and wondering where else to visit and check out (any direction). we have no requirements to get back to SC as we're both retired.

we love oysters, so Chesapeake Bay for sure. thinking Virginia Beach also.

we're open to all suggestions for places to see, and places to stay that are reasonable. on another note, has anyone been to 'big river national park', or the smoky mountains?

thanks..,

ron-

Old 10-03-2023, 08:19 AM   #2
Chris K

M.O.C. #33429
Regulations dictate that you shouldn't be driving through the tunnel on 95 in Baltimore, no propane in the Harbor tunnel. I think you can take the Fort McHenry 895 tunnel but must stop for a propane tank inspection.
It's a great time of year to visit DC. Make sure to walk around the reflecting pond when visiting the Vietnam veterans wall.
A fun place for a meal is the warf on the Potomac River.
Safe travels!!
Chris K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2023, 11:41 AM   #3
Daryles
Montana Master

M.O.C. #24086
Virginia Beach, try to get into Sea Mist at Damn Neck base. Or Ocean Pines at NAS Oceana. If not First Landing State park is nice. Water and electric only.
The 800 section of Holiday Travel park is nice.
Lots to do and see in VaB.
We normally go over the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel, up US13 through Annapolis to avoid traffic on i95.